Story From A Picture #1

in #writing6 years ago

I ran as fast as I could.

I kept glancing back to see if I could spot my pursuers. I heard heavy footsteps chasing me, but I had managed to stay ahead of them.

I ran more.

It was dark outside and it was difficult to see, so I had to slow down and watch my steps. I wouldn't get very far with a twisted ankle or a broken leg.

I ran on.

My lung screamed in anguish at the punishment I was putting on them. Although I was decently fit, I wasn't used to running long distances. Still, desperate times call for desperate measures and I couldn't get caught. I knew what would happen if they got their hands on me, so...

I ran.

I saw the underground tunnels and ran inside. I had to find a way to lose them for good. I was running out of time though. If I missed the meeting, then all of this would be for naught.

I neared the end of the hallway where I had to choose which direction to go. But in the panic of the moment, I couldn't remember. I needed more time!

I ran.

One direction would lead me further away from my pursuers and give me a good chance of getting to safety. The other direction would lead right into their clutches.

I ran.

The end of the hallway was just in front of me.

I ran.

Time ran out...



This was just a little experiment that I wanted to do. I was looking at new post under the photography tag as was wondering if I could write a short story in around 5 minutes just based on a picture that I saw.

So I went to Pexels and looked at their "new" photos and found one that seemed to speak to me. I wrote this down pretty much as it came to me, with some minor edits.

I hope you liked it.

Image source: Pexels



If you like silver, follow @britcoin and Enter to win FREE SILVER

Don’t forget that Round Three of @silveringots’s “Find The Ingot” game has started. Follow him to see when he posts each new search.


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

And I get my writing inspiration from poured Pirate Silver. I tend to go a wee bit overboard too! Arrrh!

Ha ha ha, well, whatever it takes to get inspiration.

I must admit... It does fit the photo!

I'm glad it fits. I got the original inspiration from the picture. :)

A Freewrite picture prompt, instead of a word prompt like from @mariannewest, you could be starting a new trend, or if not new then at least one I have not seen used yet. I can donate my purple sky picture for the next story if you like.

I haven't set too many trends in my life, so I'd take that as an honor. It might take me a while to write it, but I'll try to come up with something. Thanks for the use of your picture! :)

Trendsetter. this is going to catch on like wildfire and they won't have anyone to name it after.

Thanks! It's going to be tough not to have anyone to name it after, but they could always call it "The Blondie effect." Or "The NoName Conundrum." Or "Horse Rides Again!"

hahha! "horse rides again! " I love that one. do horses ride?

Sure! I've seen tow trucks towing tow trucks. You just have to get a really large horse and put a special saddle on it. Then you get a little horse and put it in that saddle. Presto! You've got a horse riding a horse.

yes sir I guess you're right. again! lol

Photos do speak, And You have put it in words quite brilliantly , Good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71