You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dusty and the Seven Shudder Sisters - Part 3

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

That totally makes sense. Writing gives you the ability to create a world with living breathing people- or werewolves or witches etc. I can definitely relate to having the desire to take your favorites and create your own versions and adaptations.

I have always had a desire to write but never really known what to do with it- I have started short stories here on Steemit and never published a single one. The have all been deleted because I didn’t like the ending or thought it was too convoluted —-

Fiction is hard for me for that exact reason.

Speaking of, I would love to get your feedback on my latest post for the supernatural writing competition. I posted it a couple hours ago. This isn’t a fiction piece but a writing piece nontheless..

This is the second attempt at a submission. My first attempt ended up being rejected because I used it for that picture contest. I should have known better but anyways- I spent at least 4-8 hours on this latest post and I value your opinion a lot. Your one of my favorite people here on Steemit- for many reasons and it’s an added bonus that you are a writer.

If you have time to check it out great..if not that’s okay too. It’s rather long and will take quite a bit of time to read in its entirety.

Thanks @michelle.gent

Sort:  

I read your story and if anything, I feel I wanted it to be a longer, more descriptive piece. It seemed rushed, like you wanted it over and done with - I totally understand that because you did.

I think I'm going to start a writing class - it's been bubbling at the back of my mind for a while. If I do, please join in :)

Thank you for taking the time to read it.. yeah I actually felt like it was too long and WAS rushing to get it done. I just felt like no body was going to read something that would take that amount of time to finish- considering that people find it difficult to read even short posts in their entirety.

Also, I typed it out mostly on my phone. This made things difficult as I was battling autocorrect and the like.

I think maybe your advice might not only be accurate to this post but to all my posts. I find myself rushing to get them done because I have a tendency to go on and on and on- making it longer but not necessarily better. I would have liked to make it this particular story into several parts- but of course, I couldn’t considering it was a a contest.

I will also admit that I sometimes feel like at my current stage here on Steemit- my content gets overlooked because I’m so new and still haven’t found my following. This makes me feel like I should save my best ideas for later. Anyways, thanks again- I’d love to participate in your writing class.. I’d be your first student!

And I’d help promote it as well. I’ll be paying attention to your posts!

I just felt like no body was going to read something that would take that amount of time to finish-

I understand that, but you need to get out of that train of thought. Write for yourself, not for others. Make it a story YOU would read and you'll please at least one reader - even if it's only yourself :)

I would have liked to make it this particular story into several parts- but of course, I couldn’t considering it was a a contest.

There's nothing to stop you from making it a longer piece now you've put it into the competition :)

Don't save your best ideas for later. Use them now, one may be the very thing that gets the attention of your potential audience and they follow you because of it.

I consider you signed-up!

You’re absolutely right @michelle.gent. I didn’t join Steemit because I wanted to become rich, I joined because I wanted an outlet for my writing and a place to share my hobbies.

Now I wouldn’t go as far to say that I didn’t put my heart into that piece. I may have rushed it for the sake of the content- and wanting to publish it now rather than later.

But with that being said, I will admit but ideally I would have liked to make it into almost a short book length. 50 pages or so.

I’m thankful that I’ve had the pleasure of connecting with you a bit here on Steemit. All the upvotes and comment replies have really helped support and encourage me.

And your candor I highly respect. Cannot wait to learn more from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55216.42
ETH 2325.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33