Introducing my Science Fiction Book (available to read here on Steemit)!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is my first proper post on Steemit (that's if you ignore my rant about poor image quality and my introduction).

My first impression of this platform is that it's easy to hype-up Steemit, if you're successfully earning enough to bring a smile to your face, and a spring in your step. In reality, me thinks that for most, unless you invest heavily in Steem, you're just going to be treading water - making a few dollars and cents. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate people like @jerrybanfield. He's very informative and talented and has more energy than most, but the truth is that, even with well crafted content, most (me included) are going to struggle. Maybe it's a lack of knowledge? Maybe I was sold Steemit on the premise of earning hundreds of dollars from my introduction alone. I actually earned $0.14!

Yes, there are helpful blogs and handy guides, not to mention an endless stream of YouTube videos, but I easily get overloaded with sometimes outdated advice. I really do have a problem with image quality on Steemit. It has to be sorted! Someone?

About Me, as written by Me!

Phillip Rhodes is a author, photographer, film-maker and graphic artist. He is passionate about what he creates, including his new Science Fiction book, "The Lost Diaries of John Smith".

Phillip Rhodes was born in an RAF Hospital in 1965 and grew up on a number of military bases, both in the UK and abroad. His childhood obsession with war films, Dad's Army and Airfix models was almost, but not quite, surpassed by his interest in Science Fiction.

From an early age he was exposed to the very best in British Science Fiction including Quatermass, Thunderbirds, Blake's 7, The Tomorrow People, The Day of the Triffids and Dr Who. He also adds The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and Red Dwarf to his list of favourites. He is also a ardent fan of Steven Spielberg.

Although praised for his clean style of prose, he was illiterate through most of his childhood, only becoming confident in his writing ability well after leaving school. He has written for newspapers and magazines, while his photographs have appeared in numerous publications, including The Guardian (UK).

The Lost Diaries of John Smith

"Imagine the world devastated by aliens as told 20 years after the event. The Lost Diaries of John Smith was written by Amy Cooper on an old manual typewriter in 2035. She was born in 2010 and survived the devastating firestorm that killed countless millions in 2014. This is her story of living in post-apocalyptic Scotland, which accompanies the lost diaries of the man who saved her life."

I wrote the book because I had an idea or rather a train of thought - namely what if the world ended? That was the start of my adventure. I imaged having to escape the wrath of mother nature, aliens or man himself. It was published on Amazon, and...

Yep, being self-published, with limited funds, usually ends in failure. I know...

...Bought the T-Shirt, then found it was too small - only to lose the receipt!

I've decided to publish the book on Steemit, because I need content, and a new audience for my work. Don't get me wrong, "The Lost Diaries of John Smith" is a bit on the long side (around 34,000 words and yikes, no pictures!), but the narrative is thrilling. One reviewer (it might have been me?) wrote: "This is an remarkable story with characters who live with you well after you have finished the book. I wanted to know more about their lives after the story ended. I couldn't put it down and heartily recommend it to anyone who likes a great tale."


Me thinks "The Lost Diaries of John Smith" would make an excellent TV series! I'm just saying...

As with all my Steemit content, this post and my book "The Lost Diaries of John Smith" are the copyright of Phillip Rhodes (c) 2011-2017.

cover.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65