Sulking

in #writing6 years ago

I am seated here typing with one hand like the keyboard ninja I am. My other hand is busy trying to feed me some addictive potato crisps. I close my eyes for a minute to savor the salty bit of these snacks then decide to take a photo (for this unexplainable post) before I forget and eat everything before taking one.

IMG_20180424_222028221.jpg

I love crisps but usually, I eat them when I am sad about something. I have been trying to construct something or edit my past work and post what I have never posted but I can't. Reason being, I am deeply sad about two things I read on social media today.

In a neighboring county, at least twenty young men have committed suicide in the past month. The society's pressure to prove oneself as a man is silently eradicating those who can't. In that area as any other in my country, manhood is gauged against how much one's wallet holds.

This has led to worrying suicide rates in that area and noticeably in the whole country. African men are known for their inability to share personal pain so they are prone to succumb to depression.Sad, right?

Moving away from suicide...

Screenshot_20180424-230146_1.png

I am still trying to digest why living a comfortable life should intimidate anyone who wants a wife and why any woman would even be worried about this. I am sad for her.

With all this in mind and my own shit too, my creative side has sunk too low. Sometimes I just as many concerned souls out there wish we can fix everything. But individually, we rarely can.


Recent Posts :)

Erotica... Quickie.

Poetry... Magic is.

Thank you for coming.

#BlackQueen

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

image.jpg

Sort:  

Oh, that's sad. She's waiting to secure her future until she can find a husband... I hope she realizes she can be whole and happy without needing to rely on a man who would be intimidated by her strength! Any man who doesn't want her to be happy and secure without him doesn't deserve her time and energy, in my opinion.

I felt like crying. For her. For those of us who think men are everything and one can't be whole without one. For the daughter she might bring forth. How I wish every woman understood what we both seem to understand. Thank you for sulking with me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59