Fake Writer

in #writing5 years ago

Hey guys.

I have been thinking about whether to share this the entire day. I am still not decided but here I am punching this keyboard away. I feel torn. Somehow inadequate.

I'll explain.

20190823-140848.jpg

I work in the Media and Comms department for an organisation called Clean Start Kenya. It is something I gladly regard as an honour considering my history with the Criminal Justice System of this corrupt nation of ours.

We are expanding by the day and as we are so are we discovering the loopholes and the gaps that won't allow the pride of Africa to thrive. The whole thing is diseased with questionable characters that makes one sick with an injustice aftertaste.

I carry my work around in my mind most the time. The young lives withering away behind bars mostly over matters that could be settled outside the courts. It's heartbreaking and sometimes overwhelming. And I can't help but get angry at times over feeling helpless.

I use that energy to get better at advocacy and spreading awareness. The trying to amplify the voices calling out for behind high fences and tight security. Those the society with thieves and murderers running the entire show won't even give a second chance. The stigmatisation in our communities towards formerly incarcerated is something I can't exactly explain. It's beyond hate.

The problem is... I am struggling too much with writing and I am expected to be doing it more often because everyone assumes I am good at it. I am not. And no. This is not me looking for attention, this is me being extremely honest.

Writing is fucking hard and the responsibility to capture someone's story and share it with a million people is something I find very difficult. Poetry is easier for me not moving paragraphs with powerful quotes. I am not good at such. Mention to me poetry or prose and we are in business.

My boss, the most challenging woman I have met in the recent years, demands me of five stories this weekend. They should range about 350 words and be moving and all that kinda stuff. And I seated here wondering... How do you gift someone the weight of doing someone else's most traumatizing journeys ever? I currently like I hate my job just a little bit.

I didn't sign up for these kinda challenges, you know? Sigh.

I know after reading all this you are there thinking... What is she going on about? She's written all this. I know. But I am promise this is different. This is like a small voice in my head talking to other small voices in my head and you are somewhat the unseen guest. I wish it was as easy as putting down unexplainable emotions on paper or screens for this matter. I am looking for strength. I am hoping I will do this and get it done with.

See how long I can rant? Damn. Thanks for coming to my monologue.

                        **Cross Posted**

BQ.

Sort:  

Does it matter if the stories are told or not?

It does. They are transformative stories of how ex inmates have conquered stigmatisation and such to thrive in a not welcoming society. It's a part of our advocacy.

Posted using Partiko Android

It does.

Well, there is your answer. Do your best.

I will. Thanks for coming to my rant :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Five stories uhn? Well you are good to go. Just write them. 😂 Just think on the impact they would have.

Not really. Not if you know what it will cost me but thanks for the encouragement :)

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you 💞

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @tezmel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93