An Elf, a Blockchain and a Plumber: A Crafty Story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This story was written as a submission to an @originalworks contest. It is royalty-free and may be used by anyone for anything without attribution to myself.


Image source

-separator-

An Elf, a Blockchain and a Plumber

I don't have 100 eyes. I have but two. If I have to select an honest employee, the best candidate is the one that saves me the most time, the most money, and does the most reliable job. How do I know which one that is? The obvious answer is: I go to the job market and pick the one that matches my requirements the best.

And that's what I do. I head to the valley where the market is held and I see an endless sea of roofed booths that reaches the horizon. I feel daunted, already exhausted from a search that has not even started. I look left and right and see hard-working men and women, some dirty, some obviously unfit for any job, and others with the sharpest eyes that one would see in the whole world.

workers

Image source

As I'm heading toward the plumbing section, I notice a giant with a colorful hat. He looks at me and his voice suddenly booms through my ears, making me stagger.

"If I were to choose someone to do this job, I'd use this man", the giant says and pulls an elf out of his sleeve. It's just a normal elf from a normal sleeve and it doesn't seem quite aware of what is happening.

"What's your name?", I ask, and it studders before responding.

"I, I am Monroe, a plumber", he stutters and responds.

I almost feel tempted to pick him. The giant puts a set of tools beside him and a little hat where I suppose my money goes. I've decided. I put some coins and take the elf.

My house has officially turned into ancient ruins. I don't know how Monroe managed to do it, but it became extremely beautiful, yet everything is broken. The place I live in is now made of stone walls and a beautiful apple tree where the toilet used to be. It's great to look at, but I need a place to stay. I think I need someone to return it to its original state. Oh, vey.


Image source

Back in the market, the sun burns my hair. I wouldn't find it strange if I seemed like a big standing cigarette. As I approach the plumbing section, the noise becomes louder and suddenly I hear a voice that makes me jump in fright.

"If I were to choose someone to do this job..."

"STOP!", I scream. It's that giant again, reaching into his sleeve to pull out an elf. I have nothing against elves, I swear. They're an honest hard-working, nature-loving race, but I just can't handle any more of this. I keep walking and ignore the strange looks I'm getting from everyone around me when someone pulls my sleeve.

"Sir, sir", he says in an almost inaudible voice. I lower my head, trying to hear what this tiny, green-haired being is saying.

"There is a place where you might get a better shot at finding the right person for your task", he whispers closer into my ear while standing on his toes.

I look around and no one seems to notice this strange entity. It doesn't seem to have a face, but for some reason I don't find that strange.

"Alright, where is that place?", I say, and space tears apart around me with a strong drilling sound and I fall onto a flat shiny stone that reflects my face.

blockchain

Image source

It seems strange, but I know where I am. This is called the Crafty blockchain. I know everything that surrounds me. This aparent void is only filled with people standing on floating shiny blocks, all enormous and seemingly metallic. All these blocks are filled with knowledge that fills our brains and, somehow, we all just know everyone around us. Each person, their stories, their abilities.

I look up, forty-five degrees upward and sixty-two to the right. I look right into the eyes of a man that my instincts tell me is the one who will do the job. I feel my left pocket and the block has filled it with tiny golden coins. I pull them out and throw them on the block. It just works. I'm outside, in front of my home, and the man is standing right beside me.

"Wow, that was the weirdest and most awesome thing I've ever seen", I say out loud, and find it strange that I have a voice, that the strange telepathy suddenly stopped.

"Yeah, just let me get this fixed alright? I'll be a few hours", the plumber says as he enters the house in an indifferent manner.

"Alright, then", I say. This is going to be an interesting day.



chemistry_2x.png

crafty2018

Sort:  

You should seriously win! This is an amazing piece of art. Why is your reputation only 25? I'm proposing this post to @curie!

You have to increase your reputation by 1 to propose this to @curie! Please post more often!

That would be amazing. Sadly I don't promote my work too much. Maybe that will keep me from getting upvotes and getting to rep 26. But I will certainly try. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll go earn some rep.

And it's only 25 because this is literally my first post on the account. :P

I know. You are doing amazing for your first post in steemit. Hope you win, goodluck!

Huh, I kinda have more reputation than you now.

Congratulations @teruro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63885.91
ETH 2742.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65