Writing Journal - Outlining & Getting to Know My Characters

in #writing6 years ago

Deciding to focus on my novel at this turbulent time in my life was not an easy choice. My muse can be an elusive little bitch. One moment she's tugging at my brain to write a particular scene, then as soon as my fingers touch the keyboard, she's nowhere to be seen. Not a very reliable sidekick, my muse.

"How's writing going?"
"I finished all my work tasks, progressed in 3 woodworking projects, reorganized half my closet, went for a jog, watered my balcony garden, did my nails and made meatballs for dinner. I also stared at a blank page for a while."

Unleashing focused creativity is particularly hard when you don't live in a bubble. It's why most people aren't artists. There are just too many distractions and "important" things demanding attention. It's called life, and it's the number one enemy of consistent creative writing. 

Since life isn't going anywhere, I decided to take a different, more structured approach.

After browsing through quite a bit of infographics and lists of tips and templates for novel writing, I picked the ones that seemed suitable to my habits and the novel I am working on.

Outlining a Snowflake

Looking for a method to outline the novel, I came across "The Snowflake Method", which is an interesting way to write a novel. You basically start small, and expand your skeletal description into a novel. So to get started, I wrote the single line description, then expanded to a paragraph, and now I am tackling my character profiles.

Never really learning to write a novel, my approach was always "sit and write and worry about the results later". This has not worked, which is why I have yet to complete a single manuscript. This approach to writing also has other shortcomings, aside from not working for me personally. 

In my attempts to run forward with my plot, I left my characters flat in my own head. Instead of speaking and acting in the way THEY would, they just did what I felt would progress the scene and plot. It's quite amazing to think that I've written thousands of words of dialogue with a character whose motivations and history I didn't bother to fully explore in my mind.

Nice to Meet You, I Might Kill You

So this week, I am taking the time to write out the character pages of my main characters, with details including everything from physical appearance to family members, motivations and hobbies. I am actually really enjoying this process, and I am feeling the characters come alive.

Next step: Expanding the synopsis and listing scenes in a spreadsheet. In the meantime, something tells me that drafting and then expanding my character sheets will give my characters the power to sit me down and make me write scenes.

Sort:  

I try to not think about the entire novel at once, it becomes overwhelming. I basically think about the major beats and then start writing. As I write, those beats will sometimes change as I’m writing the scenes... that way I’m focused on the point I’m at and not worried about how far I still have to go

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am not there yet. As soon as I started outlining the characters I realized it was more than just the scenes. They need depth even if it doesn't go in the actual novel. Otherwise I am writing situations, not characters. We'll see how it goes.

You nail it - " writing situations, not characters" - I've seen this in so many novels! and this: "It's why most people aren't artists. There are just too many distractions and "important" things demanding attention. It's called life, and it's the number one enemy of consistent creative writing. " And the Muse who summons you to the keyboard, then flees the moment your fingers hover over the keys. Now to keep her at your beck and call, and to squeeze a few more minutes out of your fully lived life for writing!

Make them into playable D&D characters!

That's more of a @mrlightning thing to do.

Well said, and I've been there.

I did instinctively (or as a result of my zillion or so writing books, and my longtime subscription to Writer's Digest) start with my characters, and their motivations, but that hasn't stopped my muse from abandoning me to the wind for long periods.

And it hasn't stopped me from ignoring her urgings far more often than I care to recount.

Good luck with your process. I wish you the tenacity to finish. Finally.
;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I won't even tell you how long I've been researching and working on my first novel. I will say that it's likely that half or more of Steemians weren't born yet. ;-/

Thank God for nonfiction and poetry, or I'd never have published a damned thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Writing is not my expertize even though I did it as a hobby when I was a kid, but I do know that most writers start with the character pages, it brings the characters to live and gives them personality because the writer sticks to what is on those pages. Gotta research the snowflake method, first time hearing about it...

Yay!! Write, write, write, write <3

I am I am I am I am!!!!

Suerte en tu proyecto, te deseo lo mejor de los éxitos.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75