A Yeti Heart

in #writing7 years ago

This is a collaboration between @cecicastor and @tatswaruyeti1.jpg

Chapter 1 “Leaving on a Jet Plane”
I woke up before dawn this morning with great anticipation. Butterflies were doing a merry dance in my stomach as today I would embark on what I hope will be the adventure of my life. I am looking forward to my quest of finding the legendary yeti on Mt. Everest. My family and friends think that I am either very brave or a little “loco” but they support me in my decision, as I thought they would.
After a light breakfast of a fresh fruit salad, toast and milk that my friend Mercedes made ready for me, my family and friends boarded a bus to take everyone to the Juan Santa Maria airport in San Jose to bid me farewell and god speed.
What a raucous ride! There was music, singing, much laughter, story telling and more food. Sandwiches, pastries and sweetened coffee were passed around for all to enjoy. The time passed very quickly.
The sun was rising as we pulled up in front of the departure terminal. We were greeted by a very surly looking security guard who informed us that the only people allowed into the terminal are those with valid passports and airline tickets. We had to say our good-byes in the parking lot!
After lots of hugs, kisses and tears (especially from my mom!) with a fluttering heart, I bravely walked towards the entrance to the terminal. I turned back to wave at the group who were much more subdued than when we arrived.
I waited patiently in line to purchase my departure stamps and then stood in yet another massive, winding line to check in at the ticket counter. My bags went through a preliminary security check by a big burly security person wearing thinly stretched blue gloves over ham-like hands, before they were weighed and tagged. I was cleared to go through yet another security check where my backpack was x-rayed.
Then it was off to the lounge to await the boarding call . Time slowly ticked by as people began to congregate for the plane. The flight was to Miami for connecting flights elsewhere in the world. I met a very interesting gentleman who was flying home to Miami after a successful business trip to Costa Rica. He ships bananas from all over Central America to US destinations. We discussed what it was over Central America to US destinations. We discussed what it was like for me to move from Canada to Costa Rica when I was 11 years old and what it was like for him moving from Colombia to Miami at age 17. He was very grateful to escape the drug cartels, constant fighting and violence. It made my leaving Canada because of the long cold winters seem insignificant in comparison. We agreed to keep in touch after we part company and exchanged contact information.

The plane was a Boeing 380 Airbus. There is reason they call them airbuses. They are configured much like a bus with wings. No leg room for us tall guys and not much head room either. The flight was uneventful and time passed pleasantly with amiable seat mates. The conversations covered many topics including world events. I know. Mom told me to steer away from politics, but sometimes I can’t help myself. It was announced that we would be arriving in Miami on time but it would not be in the original gate due to construction issues. When are they not under construction? This necessitated some passengers to travel further to their gates in order to connect with their flights. Including me.

We disembarked in the oldest part of the Miami International Airport. It is not an inviting place by any stretch of the imagination. I needed to connect with British Airways for the next leg of my journey. There was much construction and a poor hand scrawled sign taped to the wall above eye level pointed the direction to take, and stated the time it would take to walk to the main terminal was an incredible 45 minutes! Of course, I had less than an hour to make my flight!

I hoisted my bulging backpack over my shoulder and started off at a good clip. It was very hot in the dark and dank tunnel that led to the main terminal. I collected my other over stuffed bag at the baggage carousel. Thank goodness it was on wheels! Dragging my bag behind, I hustled my way to the next security check, and on to the lounge for my connecting flight with minutes to spare.

My flight to London’s Heathrow Airport had been delayed by an hour, thank goodness! I was hungry as it was now after 1 pm and a long time since breakfast. I found a Burger King kiosk and had a Papa Burger and fries washed down with a cold root beer. Ahh! That really hit the spot!

Finally, I boarded a Boeing 747 for my flight to London, England. I had booked a bulkhead seat so I would have a little more leg room. The seat I was assigned was indeed a bulkhead seat, right next the window. There is time for a catnap and perhaps a chance to catch up on some reading. I never sleep well on planes.

I was deep in to “The Blood Prince”, the new Harry Potter novel, when the announcement to prepare for landing came. I guess I will have to finish reading it later!
To be continued...big white plane.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @tatswaru! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tatswaru! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31