Fall - Short Days and Cold Nights

in #writing5 years ago

foliageleaf4579709_1280.jpg

I woke up this morning feeling late and checked the clock only to be surprised it was only 7:15. Suddenly I remembered that time changed last night and for my schedule I lost an hour of daylight. A quick glance through the house reminds me that most of my gadgets now change the time on their own.

It's a crisp, cold morning with bright blue skies and the sun already warms the windows on East side of my home. A feeling of optimism is in the air.

Per my normal Sunday routine I start a pot of coffee to brew as I shower and the coolness of the night seeps into my home, quickening the pace at which I move through my morning tasks.

I pull on a sweater and my jeans and take some time to breath the smell of fresh coffee. On Sundays I take my coffee outside and contemplate the week ahead.

As I pour the first coffee I feel excited to get outside and see the day.

I've taken on a new large project, and it would be easy to get caught in the details, but that's not what Sunday mornings are for. It's a relaxed inventory of my relationships, work and goals.

As I sip my coffee outside I think about the week past and how it felt and I plan the up and coming week at a high level. Taking notes on any appointments and special events coming up.

cup4117068_1920.jpg

As we move into fall the short days and cold nights change my routine and force me to become more efficient.

I jot some notes about a doctors appointment, a visiting client and a few personal items I want to accomplish this week. I note that I should pick up some long sleeved shirts and that I need to back up my files and photos.

I consider purchasing a camera to provide a creative outlet. The sun continues it's slow rise in the sky, the coffee cools and it is time to move on...

pictures from pixabay
Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @talkischeap! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98