Pre-publication Sacrifices

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This post was co-published at talanhorne.com

It's that time again.

I am getting ready to start sending out a new manuscript, in hopes of getting published. And that means I have to consider ways in which it will affect other parts of my life.

Because when you submit for publication, you're not just selling a manuscript. You're also selling yourself.

And accomplishing that requires a few sacrifices.


I always liked how they gave this guy a flower lei, as if to say "Hey, we know how hard it is to be a human sacrifice, and we just wanted you to know how much we appreciate what you're doing for us." Wasn't that nice of them?


So, in preparation for this endeavor, I am going to be making a few changes to the way I do things online, and I thought I should give everyone a heads up, and also give a word of advice to other authors seeking publication, who may want to consider taking these same steps.

So here's what I plan to do, in no particular order.

Step #1: Delete my Goodreads Account


Goodreads is a luxury that published authors can't afford. And I'm afraid there are no exceptions. As an author, you have no business criticizing the work of other authors. It's unprofessional. It's bad for business. It sets you at odds with people in the publishing industry---good people who are working their hardest to put out good stuff.

Likewise, you don't want to read the reviews people write about your books. Reading reviews of your books is a surefire way to spiral into the depths of neurosis. In some cases, it has driven authors to bouts of depression, anxiety, or even directionless fury. It is never a good idea to read reviews of your own books.

But this is no great sacrifice for me, since I have not been on Goodreads for a long, long time, and have written very little there.

Nevertheless, it must be done.

Step #2: Delete all my Tweets


My personal Twitter account has brought me a lot of fun exchanges with many people I would never otherwise be able to communicate with.

Nevertheless, my Twitter account has thus far been the property of a non-professional. The person who made those tweets did not consider himself a public figure, and while I never committed any egregious sins (for example, nothing I've ever tweeted would prevent me from landing an ordinary job) I have, at times, been very vocal about my opinions, and been unafraid to get into arguments, tell people they are just plain wrong, etc., etc.

It is for that reason that I will begin the process of deleting every tweet in my account, and undoing every retweet, as well.

Now, of course, the clever reader will point out that this is a futile gesture, as all of my Tweets will continue to exist in web caches (possibly forever and ever). It is conceivable, and even inevitable, that someone with too much time on their hands will try to expose me down the line.

I am not afraid of that, because this person will most likely not be a publisher, editor, or agent. And no one is going to think to comb the entirety of my Twitter feed unless I become famous. And if I do become famous, and someone does use a long-deleted tweet to attack me, then there are plenty of ways to fight back.

If I can properly show that I can reinvent myself, to prepare for publication, then that should be good enough for any good-hearted publisher to accept me.

Step #3: Delete my Steemit Account


Ha ha. Just kidding.

Steemit, as a blogging platform that records all entries in an immutable blockchain, does not allow users to delete their material, and could not, even if it wanted to.

For that reason, you don't have to worry about me deleting my Steemit account. Likewise, there's little point in me deleting any entries from my regular blog, because those are all co-published on Steemit. And while I've put forth some strong opinions on this platform, none of my posts are of such a nature that I would fear coming off as unprofessional.

Real Step #3: Keep Writing


The most essential part of waiting for an agent/publisher to pick you up.

I'm going to be starting new projects, even as I ship my current project around. That's the realistic, pragmatic way to approach writing as a job. You're sending dandelion seeds out into the world, and any number of them could fail to reach fertile soil, which is why you have to send as many seeds, and as many different kinds of seeds, as possible.

Hopefully, I'll have good news to report to everyone reading this. And hopefully it will not take long. But whatever the outcome, I'm going to continue down this road.

Step #4: Stop Netflixing?


Well, I have considered it.

If I were to stop Netflixing, it would be for the same reason I'm deleting my Goodreads account: a professional writer has no business being a professional critic, also.

However, it occurs to me that the movie and TV writing worlds, while connected to the book writing world, are not inseparable. I do not ever plan on becoming a TV or movie writer, and as such I do not feel like my earnest explorations of these kinds of writing should hinder my chances (or engender much animosity) in the book writing community.

Nevertheless, I may find myself in a position where offering critiques of Netflix offerings is seen as bad form, and in that scenario, I would have to lay down the mantle of Netflixer.

So, in summary: I am not going to stop Netflixing...yet. But anything can happen.

Conclusion


Preparing to become a public figure (even a largely unknown one) requires the making of certain changes to one's public profile. Getting into flame wars with strangers, even over innocuous subjects, has to become a thing of the past. You could say that one has to grow up before he can become a professional author. And I am ready to make that leap.

I want to thank you all for being here as I make it. You are all the best, and have won my admiration. Thank you.

Sort:  

i love your post so keep writing for us :) hope you have some great sales ATB :D

Your support helps. Thanks.

Great!, post. To achieve great things, we must a few necessary sacrifices.

I'm glad you agree. Thanks for reading.

Like always, great post!

It is always a pleasure to do

Great list of ideas here. I'm going to disagree with you about Twitter, but you've used that account a lot differently than I've used mine, so your call might be better in your case than it would be in mine. Otherwise, it's really fun to see what other authors are doing with their careers. I'll be following along.

Thanks for your support.

I'm hoping to be able to share more details of what I'm trying to do, soon. It would be fun if I could become the first author to document their entire publication experience on Steem. I hope it turns out like that, anyway.

This crypto crash is really affecting my ability to give people money. Hopefully, it will resolve itself soon (and I think that, when it does resolve itself, the upsurge will be HUGE).

The sacrifice will be worth it keep writing :)

Thanks. Those are wonderful words of support.

Amazing Post , thank you so much :)
always following you

It's good to know that people are following. It gives me a shot of encouragement.

Your style of writing is good as usual ! Wish you a good luck on your coming projects, keep it up !!

Congratulations,wish you all the best.

I'm glad to have your support. Thank you.

Hi, great post! Im making Top 20 New Authors - Steemit. You are on my list!

There are a bunch I can recommend to you for this list. @johnjgeddes is terrific, and @rhondak is a true professional. There are several others, too. Can't wait to see who you come up with.

Hi, thank you for suggestions, im looking for accounts made from june to july and i think your second suggestion is good so i will include it to my list. :)

But you must know that im not looking only for authors of books. Im looking for all steemit post authors. So maybe you will be disappointed.

Okay by me. Writing is writing. You put together your list how you like. I'm looking forward to seeing it!

I made it, i wish i could have more views to support them. I mentioned you too for your help.

Thank you so much!

Congratulations! Great post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44