Be Inspired - Discipline Yourself!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Untitled-1.png


Have you ever felt constantly energized and inspired to do something? Like "From tomorrow, I will not be lazy anymore. Within this month, I have to find a part-time job. In the next 6 months, I must have six-packs abs. In the next 10 months, I need to have a successful business. After next year, I must have a scholarship."

You strongly believe that all of your plans will be successful once you are inspired and guess what! Those big plans and dreams of yours ended up like this:

facebook-lonely.jpg

NOTHING HAS CHANGED!!! Sadly, your inspiration only lasts for 2 days or a week. And at the end, you are still sitting here and wondering where is your inspiration. And you start to find excuses for it: "Maybe because I spent too much time on social media. Maybe because of my circumstances, there are too many difficulties and problems which make me cannot reach my goals."

no-excuses.jpg

NONSENSE!!! So what type of extraordinary inspiration that makes you spend a lot of time into playing online games? you put a lot of effort researching the gameplay, allocate a lot of time practicing your skills every day, every minute whether day or night, rain or shine in order to be a better player. Or the extraordinary effort of women to have a white skin like Korean. They turn a face-wash into a meticulous art, they spend a lot of time to make cucumber face mask, putting on a face mask, apply skin lotion, apply sunscreen and wash their face again.

For me, all of us have extraordinary inspiration, the problem is just: "How To Awaken It?"

NO-PAIN-NO-GAIN.jpg

Let me tell you a story when I was in 1st-year college. I was heavily addicted to computer games, my grades in college were bad especially in Technical Drafting, it was very hard for me to pass that subject since I got an extremely bad grade in Midterm. The situation was worse than I had expected and I was so worried about my future in Mechanical Engineering. Even though I knew that but I still being lazy and unmotivated. Then one day, I think of a bet with myself that if I fail in this subject, I will never play computer games again for the rest of my life. But it works, I passed the subject with a surprisingly good grade. I still remember the day when I took the test, I was so terrified of the thought that I will never play online games again and also I will fail the test which will cost me a lot of money and time. Ignore the case if I fail because it will be another story about "How we bounce back from Failure". Lessons learned from the story, to have the motivation to achieve your goal, bet yourself with an appropriate punishment is not a bad idea.

siker1.jpg

So, are you lacking determination and enthusiasm? If yes, I will introduce few steps to have Extraordinary Inspiration.

goal-setting-871x430-1.jpg

Set a Specific Goal. Study in Havard University, travel around the world, be a millionaire at the age of 27, publish a book or a simple goal like improve your physical appearance. What is the goal that you need to achieve but you are lacking motivation? No matter how big and difficult it is, believe that every effort will be rewarded. I remind myself every day and let everyone know about your goal. Why? Publicize your goal means you used your self-esteem to bet on your commitment. You will have no escape route for laziness and slothfulness.

Punishment.png

Choose an Appropriate Punishment. An appropriate punishment can help you committed to the goal. For example, "I will not buy anything until I got a job, that is an appropriate penalty for women. I will not use Facebook, Instagram or any social media until I start a business, temporarily disable Facebook and social media maybe is an appropriate punishment for young people." I will not play video games for the rest of my life if I fail in Technical Drafting, this scary punishment makes me passed. How about you? What is your appropriate punishment to bet on your commitment? When you have to deal with your fear and loss every day, you will be stronger and stronger.

respect.png

Respect Yourself and your Efforts. There will be difficulties and problems which make you cannot reach your goals, bigger dreams mean bigger problems. Do not forget about your commitment, if you can believe it, you can achieve it. Don't be like a kid, running your mouth everywhere and then give up in the next day. If ever, someone looks at you with doubtful eyes, proof them that they're wrong with your actions. Be brave and announce your goal, persistently pursue it, in that way you will gain trust and faith. Once you are serious, your friends and family will support you all the way. And don't forget that you are betting with yourself, you despise yourself if you abstain from the punishment, always remember that there is a punishment are hanging above you every day. You don't want to be punished? So push yourself to work, transform your fear into your power. And do not say you will do it but say "I am doing it", never leave anything till tomorrow which you can do today.

Elegant-employee.jpg

After reading this blog, determine your goal and start to make a plan for it immediately. And lastly, don't waste your time and energy thinking about failure, you don't need to think about it when you have not tried your best. Take your time and think, remind yourself every day, create your own inspiration to follow your goals.
And I dare you to tell me one day that: "You have done it".


Image Source: 1st2nd3rd4th5th6th7th8th9th


Click the Banner to join our Dynamic Steemians' Discord Server !
symonp.gif

Sort:  

While I don’t agree with every piece of your advice about how to get one motivated to achieve goals, I definitely agree that it is something that we must create for ourselves. Too many people seem to think that life is happening to them, rather than being something they are creating. That’s easy to get into seeing the world, because as children it does seem like our parents and teachers control our lives. Becoming an adult is so much about taking ownership of our own life creations and not thinking it is all just happening to us. When we are able to discipline ourselves to achieve the things we want in life, we are no longer victims of the whims of fate, which are really just the things that other people are wanting to use us for.

Thank you for visiting my blog, it is my personal perspective on motivation. I agree with you and I could not have said that better, we create our own destiny by everything we do and how we respond to challenges in life. We can be anything we want if we work hard for it <3

I agree with you we should respect our self to get respect from others, don't think about the destiny jut try to goal.
ulogcomment.gif

Great Post! Congratulation! You got 25% upvotes from me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45