Original Content Is OverratedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Here on steemit there is a continual cry for “original content”.




Credit

Do you believe you, or anyone, can ever have a truly original thought or is everything simply a derivative of past ideas & thoughts?

What difference does it make if the “content” is “original”?

Are not all our thoughts merely re-supn content from the six story-lines of the archetype?


This image was stolen



Credit

Forget “Original” and strive for “Good”

And that’s not subjective or anything…

Or is it?




Credit

Write, Share, Read, Be Real

Community matters more than content.

Content is everywhere.

Click around.

Community happens when people communicate and care.

If steemit wants “original content” then so be it, but I am looking for community.

That’s the “social” in “social media”.


Michael


Written by Michael Paine

Please follow me, @strangerarray, to keep up to date with my other fiction, non-fiction, and other post.


Hey y’all for more great content check out my friends:

(All robot images from steemd.com)


@stellabelle

@ericvancewalton

@cristi

@micheletrainer

@mctiller

@lukeofkondor

@soulsistashakti

@mindover

@mars-eve

@patrick-g

@kaylinart

@romanskv

@the-alien

@razvanelulmarin

@strangerarray

@lat-nayar

@ann-hoy

@future24

@julia26

Sort:  

Very true - "No idea is original, there's nothing new under the sun, it's never what you do, but how it's done"

This was one of the quotes in the post I did on quotes to live by

Thanks @scaredycatguide, you always have interesting contributions.

I dont know...i am essentially trying to run a medical blog....and all my stories are original things I have experienced.....so my content IS original stories. I mean I get it....I am not discovering NEW diseases....but my stories are definitely true and original.

Yes you could say that every "new" action performed is "original". Just as every action becomes "historic".

Everything is history.

I am not against the sharing of experiences, but rather desire the to build relationships.

OK. That's fair. Even the most "brilliant" epiphanies that I might have had in the past can only be thought of because someone else had an idea that propelled it to that place. But I still think there is such a thing as original thought. Or else, everyone would know everything that everyone else ever knew, in the absolute side of the spectrum.

Yeah that's an interesting take @littlescribe. Suppose that's why I included this in philosophy becase it is a deep discussion topic.

I agree that I like the idea of "original thought", but as fas as "original content" goes, I think it is overemphasized.

I completely agree with you, very few things can be said to be original, in fact I've been thinking about this for about fifteen minutes and have been unable to come up with one example.

We will keep trying.


possibly, instead of original the word you're thinking of is unique
Original content is easy...just knuckle down, buckle down and doit doit doit.
Unique is HARD.
As you say, almost everything thought of, has been thought of before.
As the sage says there's nothing new under the sun

Yes, the distinction between original and unique is worth pointing out. I used original because of the repeated use on this platform by others.

Anything that is a new contribution can in some way be considered "original", but to me that doesn't increase it's value as a piece of online content.

"Unique", however, I would find as a value added feature. But, alas, as you point out: "there is nothing new under the sun".

Thanks

hi strangerarry--too tue

There is a difference I think between derived works and whole sale plagiarism. And somethings that maybe truly novel but of little merit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30