You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking a Break From Writing // Known Unknowns, Epiphanies, and Invisible Processes // Writing Journal

in #writing7 years ago

Activating this "default mode network" is not something I experienced, not that I noticed anyway, until after I was out of school.

I was a math student, and I kept math as a hobby. I found that a pre-requisite for me is really getting immersed in a problem. In school, I was in too much of a hurry.

As a hobby, I could take the time to get really "frustrated" by a problem. I could look at it long enough to where I no longer needed paper. I could think about it meaningfully even while taking a walk. With this kind of immersion, I started having those sorts of epiphanies.

If you could figure out what kinds of rhythms and activities you need to get that kind of spontaneous illumination of something, I can see how it could be a great advantage in getting tough things done.

Sort:  

I think school encourages rushing through problems, which is how you miss those epiphanies - I went back to college at the age of 26 and started doing my homework well in advance, which was the only time I was really able to ruminate and come up with new solutions. I wish this was more "standardized", there's an assumption that intelligence will yield automatic results.

I suppose universities have their hands full trying to push students through the body of knowledge that is considered the foundation of a certain area.

Still, quite some time later, I was shocked to realize that I had not done very much thinking during most of my schooling. That is of course my own experience. I am sure there is a fair amount of folks who get to that place while they are still in the formal program.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53