Never underestimate the power of your eyeliner!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

The day started off well, with me realising I had left my makeup bag onsite yesterday, so after a mad packing session, a quick stop off at the St.Kilda job site to apply said makeup and maybe a have a cheeky number, I started out for the airport. I was driving and thinking how well my eyeliner went on, this being a daily observation which usually correlates well to the kind of day I'm about to have.

I glanced at my nails, free of paint. It's a nice sight, I wonder at this point when I will break my longest nail. I fantasize it will be in a tropical bar with a cocktail in hand, and I won't care! Not that I remotely care about such things, but still I thought, where will I be....? Anyway, Feeling good, I turned into St Kilda Rd and caught myself leaving without my phone charger! Crisis avoided I thought! Next left and we'll sort that right out. At precisely the same moment and out of the far far corner of my eye, a beautiful little Sudanese toddler broke free of his father's hand hold and bolted towards the front of my car. The kid was running straight​ for my front left tyre. In what can only be described as totally stealthy driving moves, I​ narrowly escaped involuntary manslaughter charges. With nothing but the exchange of shocked "OMFG" faces, we said nothing ​and moved on with the day at hand. Phew.... Back to site, no charger. The resolve being, just deal with it!​
I caught myself thinking, hmmm but my eyeliner went on so well! I quickly corrected my thinking! The Sudanese child is alive and well, the father is glad the mother wasn't there to see the near-death​ experience, and I am going to be in Airlie Beach with my besties very soon!! The eyeliner myth ​is far from busted! Airlie-Beach.jpg

Carry on!!

So between arriving at the airport early, squeezing in a couple of cigarettes, writing about the Sudanese​ kids near-death​ experience and alighting the Brisbane bound virgin flight VA 323, my eyeliner saved me again!

Now, negotiating escalators with carry on luggage isn't a favourite past time of mine, and I have often imagined what the teeth of an escalator could potentially do to you if you were to flounder. I have imagined falling down one several time​s. All this in mind, I had to first negotiate the bollards at the bottom of the the beast. Successfully I got through, just like the first corner in that game called operation we had as kids. Stepped on, looked around at the carry on that was successfully boarding the escalator behind me. Safe, we have not touched the sides, still in the game! Secretly I felt like my eyeliner was doing a sterling job. I breathed out a small sigh of relief, and looked to the top of the escalator, to see avalanche man falling from the top of the escalator with his enormous suitcase strapped to his hand pulling his head over his​ tail, over head, over tail. I pulled my carry on beside me quickly. (Metaphorically speaking this is where the patient's​ nose​ lights up and alarms in the operation game. Clearly, ​I'm not going to collect $200, because that’s a monopoly reference, I​ don't​ have any references for operation! I'd run through this scenario a few times in my head but I'd always been the "Faller"... Weak ankles braced, I had no choice, there were old ladies behind me, I blocked the avalanched traveler​ and whipped him upright in a move usually only reserved for cartoon superheroes​. Of course, security who had been chatting quietly and was​ now shouting and screaming racing for the kill switch, as they stopped the escalator we both overbalanced hitting my carry on and breaking the once fantasied about long nail….not quite a tropical bar and no cocktail in hand!
o.jpg

Due to this event, ​the escalator was now stopped, and we would have to use the lift. This, of course, ​involved a little raucous laughter and visual summaries between Avalanche man and myself, the not caped or masked
crusader.

The packed lift was laughing at us, avalanche man recounting his mugging yesterday in Brazil just prior to flying in, all adding to his far from quiet entry back into Australia! He had also miscommunicated his pick up time by 12 hours, so he was stuck, waiting for his son. He had been having a shocker of​ a day. He wore no eyeliner, I think that was the guts of the problem
airplanewine_image2.jpg
So now I'm on the plane, the virgin hostess just took one look at me an said this one’s on the house! She passed me a Sauv Blanc, and said, it's past midday​ somewhere in the world.

Now I'm off to meet Patrica in​ Brisbane! Whoa! This eyeliner is remarkable.

So one Sudanese kid alive and well, and some inspiration from Avalanche man for having a slightly worse start to the day than me! My day was a total sucess, ending up with the best girlfriends ever!

Never underestimate​ the power of your eyeliner!

Follow me @steemsausage

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @steemsausage! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Wow, what an amazingly thoughtful thing to do. I have got to say, that this platform really is full of really beautifully amazingly friendly helpful souls.... its just so damned refreshing to see. I really don't know much about the private key, but i havent been asked to use it, unless signing in. I gather maybe you mean that someone may ask me for it, and not to give it .... yes?

You are too funny! I hope your trip is great and you don't encounter any more avalanche men. ;P

Ohh my god!! That poor guy was having a shocker! Thank you so much for being interested in what I write. My friends have always encouraged me, but they might just be being kind! Hopefully I can find out here on steemit if I can entertain an audience. The audience is the hard bit though hey! I don’t think too many people see what I write. I think being in aus, my posting times might be out of whack! What do you reckon? Where are you? You always see my posts.

I'm on the west coats of the U.S. I don't get off of work until midnight, so maybe that is why.

You’re my first friend on Steemit!! Thanks Matie!

Fuck you make me laugh!! I have been so trying to send you one back, but it seems i can only get a link, not an image.... look below, what have i done wrong friend?

Is it rude to re post same story again to see if it’s all about timing??

Yea re posting the same thing is kinda looked down upon.
You'll have plenty of time to figure out your timing ;)

​oh god, thought I​ got that right.... what did I​ do wrong?

going to gif school...if you get a gif from me you know I​ succeeded​! god such learning curves!​

here ... what did I do wrong?

can you repost​ for me? at a good U.S time,​ it's​ not cool for me too, but I'm​ interested​ to know what time you think is good? I'm​ not sure if that's a rude ask or not, but I​ wondered if you knew of a good time (your time)?

i will sure do the same for you!

by the way, I​ love that you use "too" in the right way!! shits me to tears when I​ see it wrong!! go, ​friend!!
TOO funny not​ to funny and not two funny.......You are a freaking legend.​

David, ​I tried in vain​​e to contact you today, to thank you for your welcome! I was posting from a phone.... good phone, just dodgy app! ( I think) Thanks for the welcome, you share your name with my favourite playwrite... or is he williamson..... maybe it is Williamson​. Anyway, I've​ followed you and looked at your content. Very nice!

Thanks for checking my feed out! I do most of my steemit from my phone, so I feel your pain. Dodgy indeed. You get used to it.

Congratulations @steemsausage! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

#life
Jonathan Swift : May you live all the days of your life.

Ha ha! I’m trying! It’s been super interesting so far! With many a close call!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50