PineCoin - Crypto-Fiction --Alpha

in #writing7 years ago

All I wanted was freedom over my own life. I was desperate for an alternative to my dead-end, mind-numbing job. I repeatedly dreamt of telling my boss, “I have unfortunately run out of time to decide if you’re a sociopath or merely a narcissist. Goodbye.” Sunday nights are always a time of deep depression and desperate fantasizing. Monday morning is only hours away and here I am starting another week of empty repetition punctuated only by small bursts of aggravation. Behind me lay the carnage of a half a dozen failed work-from home jobs and a lot of disapproving looks from relatives.

Monday was approaching again and I found myself staring as the early a.m. hours ticked by on my clock. I was using some of the leftovers from the last start-up in essential oils to try and alleviate the pulsating migraine I was suffering.

It was 1:33 a.m. The private message alert on my phone startled me. A friend, Schmetts, whom I had just met in a RPG the week before, wanted to know if I was up.

Me: Yeah, stupid migraine.

Schmetts: sry to hear :( glad I didn’t wake you. 7:34 am here

Me: Oh, what’s up?

Schmetts: i want to help you

Me: Ohhhkaay, how?

Schmetts: you sed you were unhappy with your life, correct?

Me: mostly my job

Schmetts: :( that sucks. I have great news tho. You heard of cryptocurrency?

Me: Sure.

Schmetts: good :) I wanted to help you get in on a ICO

Me: ICO???

Schmetts: Right :D Initial Coin Offering. You have the chance to invest in a coin early while cheap. Profit margin could be ENORMOUS!

Me: OK

Schmetts: Don’t worry. :) This will be HUGE!

Me: How do I invest?

Schmetts: Sending you a link to a video with all instructions.

Me: What’s the name of the coin?

Schmetts: PineCoin :)

Me: A crypto for wood?

Schmetts: No, my friend. Def NOT. :D

I decided to click the video link Shmetts sent me even though my migraine was getting worse. Oddly, the video started with bursts of light and sounded like a twisted ASMR video. My head was throbbing, but I couldn’t look away. Cold chills and nausea swept over me as I was losing consciousness. Blurred forms were looming over me and I heard one say,”Another catch for the Belgian. Where do we take this one?”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67