The dangers of self-medication. A short...... whatever-you-wanna-call-it

in #writing6 years ago

I was a bit bored, so decided to write this as an entry to the air-clinic contest originally, but the rules are a tad too much. Like 7,8 rules? C'mon.

Anyway, enjoy.
Await your thoughts.



It was a cold Tuesday night... Perhaps in June last year or was it July? The month, I can't remember, but the day definitely stuck.

It was a mild case of food poisoning-or so I thought.
From one side of the bed to the other, I rolled. Grabbing my tummy and grimacing in pain.

"sweetie, let me take you hospital, to receive a proper diagnosis" my wife said.

"I'll be alright, as in times past" I managed to mutter.

I thought it would pass, but worse it became.

On came the fever. A bit later, throwing up and then the shakes.

What's happening, I thought within. I crawled to the medicine cabinet, managed to get a hold of some tablets, and took them without paying much attention.

I waited to get better, but the worse I became.

Fatigued and powerless I became.

Then it hit me; the wrong drug I must have taken.

Oh I should have listened.... Self medication, a danger it is, and my wife, a widow she was about to be.
Alas, the end has come... I see him coming, the Grim Reaper, with his sickle in tow, to RIP my soul.

It's all fading and the blackness envelopes my soul.

I'm gone. Sean is no more.... dimmer and dimmer it gets. A flash, and then lights out it was.

You might be wondering how I'm here writing this..... I'm not here in flesh and blood... It's just a tale from the grave, my ghost if you will, sending a message to teach the living.



Word count: 250 words.

Love my posts?

I'll be very glad if you...

DQmb2XLRnqy5netJri1pMXwqxB22MxujE4XakYcHeVUpQqx.gif

Seems to be a thing on this side of the universe. :)

If you also have anything you would like me to write about? Drop some lines in the comments section below.

IMG_20180330_171526.png

Sort:  

Congratulations you were chosen for one of our five free daily resteems! Keep up the good work!

Resteem your Posts to 9400+ Followers — just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also will receive a 100% upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + daily upvotes!

Wanna sell your Votes or looking for an Upvote-Bot? Try Smartsteem

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You just planted 0.44 tree(s)!


Thanks to @solcross

We have planted already 7330.25 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20143.12
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33