You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes #25 - Some Days Are Full of Blah

in #writing7 years ago

I did not know a happy smiley God. I knew a vengeful God, worshipped by adults that overflowed with self loathing and self hatred. (The public saw the smiles, like they do on the Hillsong videos – but those smiles disappear when the public, and the cameras, are no longer there).

I feel you on this, but I'm sure you can ascertain that from what I've written in my book. I don't think it's a coincidence that Utah, the home of the highest percentage of Mormons, is the leading state in antidepressant use.

Christianity is about denying our true nature, our physical needs, our emotional pain, and our 'evil' thoughts. That's how pedophilia and abuse is allowed to flourish. We can only roust those things out of people and their hearts with honesty amongst ourselves and other people. If you scatter light onto your pain, the pain is often diminished just by acknowledging its existence.

But having evil thoughts and pains is ungodly. It means you're tainted. So we push those things down and they flourish in the dark as we keep on smiling.

The older I get the more I'm convinced God definitively does not exist. The universe flourishes on reason. Everything born here was born to survive and grow, and in order to grow there must be a kind of love. A love for life and for your fellow species. I see none of that in the Judeo-Christian God.

Sort:  

I don't think it's a coincidence that Utah, the home of the highest percentage of Mormons, is the leading state in antidepressant use.

I don't doubt this at all. Half of my family (the Christian half) are on anti depressants. I would have thought this was blasphemous behaviour, but apparently not.

We can only roust those things out of people and their hearts with honesty amongst ourselves and other people. If you scatter light onto your pain, the pain is often diminished just by acknowledging its existence.

I think this is how I have tried to handle things in my life. Only because it seemed natural. It seemed right. Making no claims to perfection, and having no fear of those imperfections. In fact maybe even learning to embrace them.

and in order to grow there must be a kind of love. A love for life and for your fellow species.

I find when things are going well, and feeling right, I have a sense of appreciation for my place or my roll in the flow of life. I guess this is love, inward and outwardly expressed. More than that - it just is. I don't have to conjure up anything, or force anything. There is no looking over my shoulder to see if God, or psuedo-gods are watching me, judging me. The times when I use the word God (its like a semantic nightmare that keeps returning) I refer to this 'flow of life'. Whatever that is. But like you say, I see nothing in the Judeo-Christian God. Just blackness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52