What Do You Consider Vulgar, and Why?

in #writing6 years ago

censor.png

I would have to think that all of us draw the line in different places when it comes to material that offends us in some way. It isn't a thing that has any unit of measure, just something that is built into us from our own individual experiences.
What offends you, may not offend me, in fact, I may find the material humourous. I may find it stupid, or I may find it something of value. We all depend on our sensibilities, our morals, our upbringing, and of course the one that has caused more deaths and wars above all else, our religious beliefs. (I don't have any)
I threw together a brief post the other day, and I tagged it as "interesting". Maybe I should have tagged it as "humor", not that it would have made any difference, but after posting it, I decided to share it with a group on FaceBook. I hadn't but posted it for 5 minutes when I received a notification from an individual in that group, who told me my title was vulgar.

Now I'm the type of person that can be very reasonable, or I can be a royal pain in your ass if you strike me the wrong way. If I become a pain in your ass, you will know it, and more than likely decide to avoid me.
Since I was feeling in a good mood, I decided to take the high road, and not press the issue too much.
The thing that really bothered me about the whole thing, is I've seen a lot worse posted, with many expletives, which by the way, my post didn't have, (for a change).
The idea for the material came from an article I had read earlier. The same words to describe what I was writing about, were in that article.
I wasn't offended and actually chuckled at some of it. It was actually about a serious issue, which I am offended by, and so are many others. So I thought it would be great material for a blog post and get the message out there at the same time.
I really hate when some people try to censor you for something that should be heard. I'm not talking about standing on a soapbox and shouting gibberish, I'm talking about issues that affect people every day in a bad way.
I was actually offended when I asked the person who wrote the comment what they found vulgar about my title, and their dumbass comment was, if you don't know, I can't explain it to you... which to me means, they just had a stick up their ass at the time and wanted something to bitch about.
Anyway, we all have degrees of what we find vulgar, and what offends us. I guess some things don't affect me as much as some others... what makes you draw the line, and why?

Sort:  

For me personally vulgar means anything to do with nudity or even sex in the movies. I sometimes feel it would be so much better if they make things more decent.

Then again vulgar can be dressing code , where people dress so poorly showing 80 or more of their skin.

Especially while going to church , I have felt so bad seeing people dressed poorly.

Then there are bad talks , which are also vulgar. Which could be talking about bad things and even swear words.

Yup that's me...

well I will admit to having a much different view than you, but that is perfectly fine. we all have our limits. Thank you for stopping by and commenting, it's always good to have some feedback!

the meaning of vular have some criteriea which is also set by any decent people ,but they also dont know what actually meant it?
we can understand what the measure of vularity define by us?

I get offended. I'm offended by your poor use of grammar. Even more offended by my poor understanding of grammer. Oh, and my spelling is absolute dogshit, but you better not be offended, or I'll be offended some more.

You can see how my feelings aren't subject to facts or reason, I hope.

As such, I do my level best to not censor my feed. See, everyone thinks it is somehow important that you were bothered by that persons attempt to silence you, or by your (perceived) attempt to outrage them, but both miss the most important point to me.

It's very hard to listen to things which 'offend' me, so absolutely VITAL that I put as little as possible in the way.

Facebook was terrible not just because of 'their' censorship efforts, but because of my own.

so where do you stand on censorship?

This is more complicated than a simple reply, but put simply, I stand against it.

To go into a bit more detail, I would say that it depends on context a bit.

To go into even more detail, this question triggered a post of my own. Thanks, @skiponline

I think "vulgarity" probably depends, at least in part, on the venue. Something that is acceptable to say on Facebook might not be appropriate to say in church, or that dirty joke one heard at work might not be approriate to repeat at home in front of children. It's all relative.

The link you shared, above, does not seem to be a conversation that should be out-of-place on Facebook unless children are present in your Feed. I agree that the person might have over-reacted, but it brings a good point of conversation here to the blockchain!

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46