You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Ethos on Writing Articles - Value Added Content

in #writing6 years ago

I once had a teacher that used the exact same words: write what you are passionate about.

When I first started here on SteemIt, I wrote articles of which I thought people wanted to read those kinds of posts. Although I’ve always enjoyed writing, it became a chore.
It wasn’t until I hit rock bottom and posted a rant that I realized that I was enjoying writing it, for the first time in a long while.

Ever since that moment, I have my ups and downs. I’ve written posts straight from the heart. I just started writing without having an idea where it would lead me, and how the article would turn out. So refreshing :0)
But too often I’m still too concerned about whether people would be actually interested in what I’m writing, so I cling to so called safe topics.
When I reread my articles afterwards, I can notice such a big difference in style, in quality. The ones of which I think I have to write them are so forced it’s aweful, there is no joy in them... no soul.
Sometimes, not as often as I would like, I simply write for myself, without wondering whether people will find value in it or not. Those are the ones that are of value to me. And - often to my surprise - people seem to like them.
Value is so subjective, ...
I could write an informative article that will trigger the interest of a lot of people, but which I don’t enjoy to write. Or I could write something that has little useful information, but liberates me and makes me remember how I love writing.

Which one has more value? Hard to say. I guess that depends on the different parties involved.

Sort:  

Wow, my situation exactly. I had no clue what I could offer when I started. I still don't according to my post payouts.

Have tried several approaches and varieties of posts, articles, facts and freewrites. Not picking up much Steem.

But I will be here tomorrow for my own enjoyment.

It didn’t take me very long to stop caring about the money and to focus on the community. I’ve met so many awesome people on here. People I never met, who live on the other side of the world, but who I really consider as friends. By interacting here, I’ve already learned so much about myself...

I love joking around with them in comments section - that is way more valuable to me than writing a million dollar post.

SteemIt is promoted as a place where you can make money, so everyone here signed up for that. It’s a big lie, so loads of people leave real soon, before they can see how strong the community is here and how much fun SteemIt can be if you stop thinking about the money. Enjoying yourself is so much more valuable than the money... :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45