You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Decline of the Aristocracy (by 1900) – Politically and Personally

in #writing6 years ago

It is interesting that this gradual decline started with the French Revolution. Though I would speculate that it would have happened regardless (maybe not so soon). The Industrial and Agricultural Revolutions shifted the monetary power base and the entitlement of the aristocracy was bound to piss off the wrong people at the wrong time.

As always it was a pleasure to read one of your history posts. Looking forward to the next one. (I am going to read up on Continental European Aristocracy because of this LOL)

Sort:  

lol, should I be sending encouragement or apologies? ;)

While I was researching I kept circling back to the idea that this 'end of an era' meant that all the land wars up to that point over the centuries had all been rather pointless in the end. So much blood shed and so many lives wasted.

Perhaps, though, I should have been rejoicing in the fact that my agricultural ancestors finally caught a break, lol.

"All the land wars up to that point had been pointless" as opposed to land wars now?

I don't think the English have many land wars these days - at least not on English soil. No more storming the castle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67