The Broken Fence: Part 2

in #writing7 years ago

fence-619860_640.jpg

      I didn’t want to write today, but I’ve missed the last week of entries, and I do find this cathartic. I’ve had some kind of stomach bug. I thought my luck had run out, but I’m still here. It wasn’t Salmonella.

      I think it was last Tuesday, today is Wednesday, I woke up with an awful pain in my lower stomach. I tried to spend the morning in the garden, but the pain eventually forced me back inside. Jack stayed with me for a while, then disappeared until sundown. I was laid up most of the day, and by early evening, I was spending most of my time perched over or stumbling to the shit-pit.

      That was how it started for Kate, and for Aiden, minus the shit-pit. But things got worse for them. Within 24 hours they were both vomiting, first food, then fluids, then bile and blood. I tried giving them ice-cream. I tried juice. I tried water. I tried everything. Nothing stayed down. It went on like that for a week. The third and fourth days were the worst, when they still had enough energy to scream with each body racking stomach spasm. Then, all I could do was wait.

      I just had a week of diarrhea. I didn’t vomit, but I was sure it was coming. It didn’t. And I’m still here.

      We had some rain toward the end of the week, which is lucky, because I couldn’t tend the garden until yesterday.

      Jack went missing again on Saturday, and again, he came back around dusk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81