"I'm not a HERO" [fiction]

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

locomotive-60539__340.jpg
Pixabay

They locked me in a train car after capturing me. I was bound hand and foot to a very thick wooden chair, and it would have been a few hours since that because I gazed the twilight sneak through the window. The train would arrive in at least one more hour to the station of Rubicante. Several thoughts came to my mind at the same time, but I tried to push them away because they were unnecessary, I just needed to concentrate on the only thing I needed: Mrs. Burgos' head. They had put my sword on a sofa few meters away from me. Suddenly, I heard behind how the door opened and some people entered. I knew from the steps that they were three peoples. One of the men started talking.

"My lady, we have captured the intruder and we going take him with us to the mine, from then on we will deliver him to the police".

"Excellent, captain," said an old woman's voice. "As far as I can see it's not a simple robber, or just a low criminal." Their stepts approached and I could see them in front of me. One of the mens, I guess the one who spoke before, pointed to the position of my sword, and the other man took it and showed it to Mrs. Burgos.

"So he is carrying an oriental sword. What was it they called them?" Said the lady.

"Katanas, my lady" said the man who was holding it as he unsheathed. The blade shone like the light of the northern lights.

"This is not simple steel, it is damask, from the burgos company". Pointed the lady while she looked at the sword without touching it. "To think that a delinquent could have something like that. Since two centuries ago you can not make weapons of this type anymore". She turned around and looked at me, noticing that I was wearing a mask. "I wonder where this criminal will have gotten a relic like this. I've only seen them on my family's albums. Captain Jeffrey, why is this guy still wearing a mask? "Mrs. Burgos' tone was defiant and direct.

"My lady," said the captain who had spoken at the beginning. "We wanted to take the prisoner's mask off before your eyes.

"I see" Replied "Then proceed" The man removed the mask from my face. If only my mask were a alchemical, I would have been tied to my will and could never have taken it away from me.

"Wow, how clever" commented the lady "to carry a mask under another mask. At least now I can see your eyes. I heard there in Samour, from the very mouth of Lord Wallace Poncrator about a curse that had befallen the family. "A ghost", that's what they call it, has murdered several of its members like Wallace's nephew and his daughter-in-law. Those who have seen this supposed ghost describe him as a guy dressed in black who goes through walls and who carries a sword. Will not be yourself by chance?" I looked directly at the lady's eyes without saying a word. She did not look down for a single moment and I understood the kind of person she was. I nodded at her question.

"I see. The dead man do not tell tales, do they?" She said ironically. "Captain, please, do me the honors".

"Yes ma'am". -The man kicked the chair and I fell to the ground. Then he kicked me in the stomach and took my breath away. Now the captain reached down and pulled me by the hair, pulling back the cloth mask that covered my neck and nose.

"I would speak if I were you," he said in my ear. "Criminals like you shall pay".

I tried to catch my breath as quickly as possible. Mrs. Burgos saw me as an insect that she obly felt pity.

"We do not have anything to prove who you are," she said. "Did anyone see him go through a wall?" Both men deny with their heads. "Maybe he is somebody from some organization as I heard from Lord Grillo talking back in the city. In that case, there will be many who claim to be the supposed ghost. But even you… I do not think that you are foolish enough to claim that ghosts exist. They are just fairy tales,"she said as she continued to gazes me, waiting for an answer.

"Lady Burgos" I began. "I deeply regret to inform you something: fairy tales begins from a grave, and unfortunately this train will be yours" I claimed, and activated the shadow layer tied to my will, with it. I would be intangible five minutes a day. I got rid of the bonds and slid quickly behind the man who carried my sword. Again I materialized and recovered my weapon. It was the first thing to do, without Lumina I was nothing more than a shell without a soul. It was easy, the man stood like an idiot without understanding anything, so I removed the scabbard and the sword.

"Captain! Finish him off"said Lady Burgos. Captain Jeffrey drew his sword and we began to fight. The other man took Lady Burgos with him.

 

"I do not know what kind of demon you are, but if it's in my hands and in my honor, I'll stop you".

 

"It's an honor for me to be call a demon, Captain," I said, and we begin fighting.

The captain was stronger than he appeared because of his short stature and his age. He was very skilled with the sword. He was holding each of my attacks. Our swords clashed and steel sang with sparks. That bastard was playing at defense. Once the captain felt he had received enough he started attacking. Our swords clashed in an arch above our heads as our forces made them tighten and vibrate like the strings of a lute until they separated leaving a trail of sparks on us. It would have been a minute after we started our fight. And while there were not many armed men inside the train, I could not allow him to bring reinforcements. I would finish him in the next blow. Lumina was a big sword for such a small space, it made me uncomfortable. However, the style of my opponent had a big hole: he attacked with both hands and after giving a blow he became slow. The captain returned to position of attack and gave a blow. I dodge him off with Lumina, and at that moment I dribbled releasing my weapon and prepared to cut him off on the right side when he too dribbled and could barely contain my attack, I saw him wobble. I could not waste any more time so I activated my cape again and ran towards him, the captain attacked me but like a ghost, his sword only came trought me. I materialized behind him and cut his neck. A very low play on my part. I saved my sword and put on the cloth mask. Now I had to find Mrs. Burgos on the train. Things were coming out how I had planned them. In 40 minutes we would arrive at the station. That was my time limit, and I could still make myself intangible about 4 minutes with 40 seconds. I checked my things inside my cloak and they had not taken off my knives or the gun. Then I heard footsteps in front of the door. I peeked out and approached five men improvisedly armed. I had to make myself intangible to avoid them. They entered the room where I was anyway. When they left the next Baron, they had evacuated him. I materialized again. I lost about 15 seconds. The next door was closed. I cursed and had to make myself intangible to move forward. The passengers saw me terrified and surprised. They did not do anything They opened up space while saw me. I continued to advance intangible through several wagons. I materialized and asked in a threatening way to a girl who worked there. She, scared pointed to the rooms anddid not say anything, and I just went inside. There was no one. I cursed again. I went out the door and in front of me there were more armed men including passengers. I had to make myself intangible and move on to the driver's room. And there was the old lady with this one. As soon as they saw me enter through the door, the two of them responded with bursts of machine guns that only pierced me. I had to surround them to reach the moment when I could materialize to disarm them. In that, Mrs. Burgos managed to give some shots to the engineer and to the apparatus of the train. She ran out of ammunition before I could have found a way to disarm her. I took the weapon away. I was nervous. I could hear the beating of my heart. I shut the door. I finally had this disgusting old woman in front of me.

"I don't know what you want from me, monster, but I have nothing to do with the Poncrator family," she said. Her face was a mask of rage. If there was fear on it, was almost imperceptible.

"Margarita Burgos, you murdered the Duke of Lancaster Marcus Youngblood," I said, drawing my sword.

"That was a poor imbecile and idealist. His actions were impoverishing the city more and more".

"The Duke's murder has caused a civil war". I interrupted her.

"It was going to happen anyway. The murder of the Duke was only an action that accelerated the conclusion". She said stubbornly and proudly.

"The company Burgos is directly responsible for the death of innocents in the town of Trebon; your company poisoned river waters, the soil; killing plants, animals and people".

"You are an idiot and a romantic. Wow, what do you come here and did all this to avenges others? You really have a fairy tale in the head." She said much more calmly without taking her eyes from mine. The train was accelerating more and more. "Kill me if you are here for that. As far as I can tell, everyone on this train is going to die anyway… but it's something that happens precisely because of you. The murder of a troublesome duke and some people in a town forgotten by God. But right here are going to die more than 160 passengers in a single moment because you appeared. What are you really doing?"

 

The old woman Burgos had trapped me. Was I really doing this for that duke? I hardly knew him, and it was true that as a politician he was dangerous. His family recognized him in that way. And about the town, it truly only was a pretext for me to kill Mrs. Burgos. But what I really wanted was revenge. 200 years ago the company burgos conspired to kill my family along with the Poncrator house. After that, the Burgos family would take on a lot of my family's property and contribute to staining our name until it disappears. However, this old woman was not born 200 years ago, the direct people responsible were her great grandparents, who betrayed my family after I murdered Anthony Burgos, but he was only a slaveholder who kidnapped women to sell them, including my sister . If I had not confronted him then, he would have sell her, and I would have no one with me right now anymore. The material things that I have are united to my will like my cloak of shadows and Lumina. Had I done the right thing by killing Anthony 200 years ago?

 

"Well?" She said, pulling me out of my thoughts. She had drawn a small pistol, pointed and fired at me but I could evade it even though the bullet grazed the side of my right shoulder. I kicked her and took the gun. Several people were rushing towards the door. I could hear them. "Kill me, but this will also be your grave. You are not a hero".

"Mrs. Burgos… You're right, I'm not a hero," I said and stuck the sword into her skull. I looked and noticed that the train would crash in the next ten minutes. The emergency brakes did not work. This corrupt company anyway intended to turn this train into a tomb. "Listen to everyone, in the next few minutes this train is going to crash. If it is possible to stop it, do it. Here where I am the devices do not work. Mrs. Burgos destroyed them, "I warned them, to the door and from the other side I heard the commotion. Then I jumped into the void being intangible with the last ten seconds left. When I materialized, I kept circling on the ground. If people are going to die in that train, I would not know at that time.

Then I thought about what I had done... and what I had wanted. I thought about the mask that I used and that did not allow me to see inside me. And that's when I knew that everything I had wanted since that day was the destruction and the lost of everything I hated. Even the world itself.

Even if for that goal I will have to cast away my own soul.

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://seifiro.timeets.xyz/2018/11/21/im-not-a-hero-fiction/

Sort:  

Juust testing something ;) !tip 0.003

🎁 Hi @seifiro! You have received 0.003 SBD tip from @cardboard!

@cardboard wrote lately about: Cardboard'S Twitter - Feel free to follow @cardboard if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63