5-minute freewrite Day 719 Prompt: Dachshund

in #writing5 years ago

Below is my entry for the daily freewrite activity. You can find the prompts and the rules with @mariannewest.

20190714_193939_2.jpg

Louie wearing a onesie to protect his stitches this summer.

This is a great prompt for me to write about, since my youngest daughter has a mini-dachshund. His name is Louie, and I have written about him before because he is my adorable grandpuppy. My daughter obtained him in 2012 through an ad on Craigslist. She says he wasn't at all like the ad described him, but the house where he lived looked like a crack house to her, and she wasn't about to leave the poor little dog there. She wasn't living at home at the time, but just a couple months later she moved back home with us and brought Louie along. When she moved away, I missed him dreadfully. Now she lives about an hour away from us, so I get to see him from time to time. He is a very stubborn little critter. He rarely comes when called, and takes a long time to decide on the perfect spot to pee when he is taken outside to do his business. He has to be on a leash whenever he is outside, or else he'll smell something interesting and just take off. This summer he had to have two surgeries. Apparently he got into something he ought not to have eaten, probably in the bedroom of my daughter's current roommate, who is frightfully messy. He quit digesting his food, so now he has to take medicine to help him digest, and he has to eat special food. Some days he acts has if he is developing doggy Alzheimers. It is possible that being sedated twice in a month messed up his little brain. He is a very sweet dog, and I will be very sad when he dies.

Sort:  

@dogsofsteemit just upvoted your post. We are manually upvoting dog pictures to help the cuties grow. Upvote this comment or our latest post to help us (and yourself) to grow.

Please, follow us or our curation trail: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?trail=dogsofsteemit&i=1

Use this app to get more upvotes:

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha! No, and after all these years, I question whether my daughter could even find it again.

I was asking for a friend @scribblingramma 🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

awww. We do get so attached to them!

So true! Sometimes quite unexpectedly.

Pulled on ALL my heart strings...

Aww. Thanks for stopping by.

You're welcome!

I have grown quite attached to the little stinker.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05