You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basic Income? (revised intro - excuse my lack of understanding at the time of writing this)

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I'm not going to comment on basic income, but I think people on Steemit need to let go of this idea of "deserving posts".

That's no less utopian than what is being criticized on this post.

Value will never be objective. It is always subjective.

Steemit is not a quality contest, it is a popularity contest - only the latter of the two is objective and can be quantified objectively. "Quality" doesn't really mean anything, we all have our own definition for it.

The post most deserving of upvotes is the one that gets the most upvotes. It is simply decided by the market.

Sort:  

I agree with you on everything you said, except last sentence. Bots are ruling here.

It's not so much the deserving post issue so much as the community knowingly padding the pockets of the author when we all know full well that that idea simply put isn't worth (in my opinion) what it's payout is.

I don't want this to come off as a witch hunt. It's not. I've mad respect for the author for his work on STEEM. However I think we're seeing some heavy sheep mentality and ultimately it's people upvoting on these posts for percieved curation rewards rather than actual content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59