A Scene by Starlight Memory

in #writing6 years ago

We drove for hours, the darkness falling quietly all around us, leaving humanity behind until we were only mountains and trees.



I pulled over by the river and softly unfolded myself from the seat as Novah slept.

"I'm here," I whispered to the breeze that moved like needles across my skin. I pulled a blanket tight to block the crystal cold greeting.

The river rushed below us, black motion cutting across the black night. I kneeled in the gravel and waited for a sign, my yearning heart tightening in the thin icy air.

A deep breath prayer, lungs full of pine scent, and I willed myself to relax, release the frigid death grip on my broken beating heart. I came all this way to receive...

"Make the space," I remembered, and exhaled doubt. 

I was almost alone past all those windy roads, and I came here to stop the fight. 

"Please," another prayer, my heart so heavy I could not have stood even if I wanted to.

The pines at the top of the ridge circled the sky, stars illuminating their majestic outstretched silhouettes.

My breath held, my heart paused - only the river flowed on in the silence.



Suddenly, a single streaking miracle across the open heavens! 

My breath caught in my throat with another then another breaking light, and my heart beat wild! 

Brilliant shooting stars slashed through the crisp night, slicing the still sky, faster than I could count, showering down upon me, the mountains, the trees.

Pierced pieces of my shattered heart fell to the Earth with my tears, where I prayed that they nourish the pines. 










💛 Sara!

pics from pixabay.com
Sort:  

@saramiller, superb just loved your story with beautiful expressive words which do provide very deep and touchy feelings with nature 🙂🌺

Thank you, @anikaa I appreciate your comment!

Really @saramiller, truly love the way you play with the words and express with it with great feelings. Keep up the good work ❤️ dear.

Thank you 😊 Word play is one of my specialties, I quite enjoy it! 💛

Awesome... even my breath was caught in the cold and heart started beating wild reading this :D

Perfect! I couldn't have asked for a better compliment, thank you @danzy! 😊

We are all made of stardust∞§∞

YES!! 💫✨

Absolutely it's not a darkness it's make a glittering of sky as whole the ground, all the trees are natural looking @saramiller

A glittering sky, yes how lovely! I could have used that :)

Wow @saramiller you got a great writing style. This little piece was "breath holding" "heart pausing". Couldn't help following and upvoting you.

Thank you so much, @benadam :)
I'm grateful to share the scene with you!

You gave me one more reason to follow you dear. You interact and respond to the comments on your blog. Chao :)

Sometimes I'm quicker than others at responding (depending on what's going on in the physical world), but yes I do try to keep up with interactions :)

Love your writing talent. 👍

Lovely post, I love this line
"Please," another prayer, my heart so heavy I could not have stood even if I wanted to.
It was directed to me, that is how I feel right now. Nice writing, happy new year in advance @saramiller

Yes that line came through for you, @tutufaith! We are connected, and I hope it brings you comfort to read this. This described a real moment in my life that was painful but beautiful and powerful and profound and ultimately very hopeful and magical, and I am honored to share it with you. Happy new year!! 💛

Nice poem of nature l like your writing skills

Love it. Followed.

Thank you! <3

Beautiful writing and pictures :)

Thank you! The pictures aren't mine, they're from pixabay.com but I agree they are lovely. I love to look at the stars!!

They are lovely, and I agree with you. When it's a clear night, the stars can be one of the most beautiful things to look at :)

MMmmmm yes they are magic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99