HALLOWEEN DISASTER... OR NOT?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

This is a story about how being creative can make the best of anything, including trash.

Keep reading and laugh at my worst idea ever.

20161029_220739.jpg

About two years ago I was invited to a Halloween party... I wasn't interested in spending any money on a one night outfit so I didn't take it seriously.

All my friends had their costumes ready long before the date, and when the day arrived, I was the only one without a costume. But I kept thinking "whatever, I'll find something on the way."

Before the party, we went to a movie forum of Persepolis. I don't know why I'm telling you which movie it was because it's irrelevant to the story... Oh right because it's a great movie.

One of my favorite scenes from Persepolis (2007) Dir. Marjane Satrapi, Vincent Paronnaud. (Perhaps this was an influence...)

ANYWAY

The forum was at some highschool, and before we arrived there, I had the idea of dressing as a trash bag. Literally, a trash bag.

But as easy as my idea was, I didn't have a big black trash bag (this is such a weird sentence) to wear. So we decided to steal one from the school.

What? I said I wasn't going to spend any money on that costume!

It was saturday. The school was obviously empty. But because of the event, there were guards walking around... AND CAMERAS EVERYWHERE.

So we finally found one perfectly clean and empty trash bag near a bathroom. I had my friends watching my back and I started taking out the trash bag and quickly hiding it inside my bag.

Like a second after I finished doing that, a guard walks by to check on us (a bunch of teens looking suspicious as usual). But we pretended to be coming out of the bathroom and everything was okay.

After that, we had to wait on this "bar" (literally a neighbourhood's alley with the cheapest beers in town) and we sat on the floor to drink. I started cutting the wholes where my legs, arms and eyes where supposed to go.

I know it's not much to be proud of, but: I DID IT PERFECTLY AT FIRST TRY.

Here's another awesome thing that came out perfectly in one take:

Breaking Bad. S03E02. If you don't understand this refrence, read this article.

Back to the story... It was kind of hot inside the trash bag, but I put my costume on and we went to the party. It covered all of my face and body except for the legs, arms and eyes.

IT CAUSED FUSS. The people at the party (which I knew very few or none) were laughing so much and claimed it was the best costume ever.

But the funniest part was how much they were intrigued not being able to see my face, or anything that was under it (I was wearing shorts and a skin tone shirt, I'm not that crazy). And I, of course, didn't reveal much. I was in my character.

My sexy trash bag character...

20161029_220854.jpg

The moral of this story is: every Halloween costume is a sexy costume if you put your heart to it.

Ups, sorry!

I meant: everything can be turned into a Halloween costume if you put your heart to it.


Check out this amazing bootcamp about how to be successful on Steemit, by @markrmorrisjr!
New posts everyday!

It's called #dolphinschool and here's the whole gang:

@manuelmendez
@chieppa1
@mawit07
@jampresents
@magicalmoonlight
@lilyraabe
@donjyde
@redheadpei
@mandelsage
@andysantics48
@insideoutlet
@bristowboy
@sarahewaring
@jeejee
@bozz
@naquoya
@cristoferimm
@mineopoly
@makingthebest09
@solomon507
@powellx5
@castleberry
@sarahart
@happychaga

Sort:  

This is so funny! It’s even better because it’s personal and some might say “embarrassing” so I sense the stakes are a little high which makes me connect to it even more! Really entertaining and definitely made me laugh. :)

It was! Obviously some people hated it, but I guess I didn't care, haha. Making a fool out of myself is actually refreshing. Thank you for your feedback! Did I say I loved your post about feminism? Didn't think so! Well, it was awesome. It's the right approach that subject should take. Congrats!

Great story! I was wondering about that shirt. Yeah I know lol. Nice job!

It was intentional to cause curiosity haha. Thank you!

Great post! Excellent story, as creatively told as the costume was created. Well done. nice use of personal images, I like that about your posts. That being said, your other images seemed a little at odds with the piece, I wasn't sure how they fit. Maybe the resources I shared today will give you some good sources for future projects. All in all, well done!

Thank you! You're right, I thought they didn't need an explanation, but I arranged that. The one in the middle really didn't fit, I changed it for another one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68853.42
ETH 3708.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65