You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “A” – Vocab-ability Prefixes – A More Powerful Vocabulary (This post includes all prefixes beginning with the letter “A”)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

prefix are really difficoult for me! :/
I'm finding I assumed meaning to words that have different ones, now the meaning of the prefix makes another sense to me. Abscond, aground and archenemy for example are words that are not very common and maybe you could give me some example when to use it?

Sort:  

Yes, assuming slightly different meanings is common, even among native speakers and even among teachers/editors such as myself.

Once we get beyond the basic English (or any language) competence of around high-school age, it becomes increasingly difficult for anyone to learn more advanced language and to learn it to any great degree.

For instance, when I compiled most of this VOCAB-ABILITY material, I was teaching advanced level ESL to students who were quite proficient in English. During those times, I myself learned lots about advanced English and learned the actual meaning of many English words whose meaning I had misconstrued.

And since my upper-level students had actually STUDIED those words (and not simply learned them by osmosis as I had learned those words), sometimes my students could clarify the actual meaning for me!!!

That's why learning such vocab as this is so interesting, and, for some people, so important. If you want to express yourself clearly, you should know these words. And if you read a lot, you should know these words, so that you understand them when you read them.

...
As for more examples ... here's your 3 requested words in one portion of text. (and a few bonus words)

I had an uncontrollable urge to take revenge on my ARCHENEMY, so when I saw that he'd left his expensive vocabulary dictionaries on the library table when he went out for a smoke, I grabbed them and ABSCONDED with them. I jumped into a boat and tried to escape downriver, but right outside the door of my archenemy's riverside home, my boat suddenly ran AGROUND. Doh!

When he ran out to ACCOST me, I ASSURED him that I had only taken the books as a practical joke. He was not AMUSED.

And that's why I am following your VOCAB-ABILITY rubrica! I find it very interesting :) Also thank you so much to take the time to explain this to me, it is very caring!

I'm a teacher ... by profession and by nature!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37