The new era of content creation

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

A miracle happened in the last decades - without me being aware of it. I'm 13 days on this platform and I've just noticed how freakin easy it is for EVERYONE to share his or her thoughts online. 

(See: I'm not even 2 weeks in on Steemit and I have already ...at least 1 reader)

Anyways... isn't it a miracle...? We have all the freedom to share (if we wanted even anonymously) whatever is on our hearts. 

Even better - we have the ability to collaborate and connect to fellow thinkers all around the world*

I mean... it's so easy to forget, that 30 years ago, there was almost none of that.

The days are over when we all were forced to be quiet. Over are the days of only one right voice. 

Today, in the era of internet and 'freedom of speech' suddenly we all - if we want to - have a platform to speak our truth.

A power that people in controlled societies have never had before. Never was it easier and cheaper to build your following and to share your opinion - to the whole world.

And yet, with power comes responsibility.

We can use the power to trash-talk, to inflict pain, to reinforce hatred - or to simply waste others time.

Or we can use it to share our experiences, opinions and points of view in order to lift each other up.

This new era came quickly and I believe, we're still adjusting. Overwhelmed with the sudden power, we have a society that is still slowly finding its way through the jungle of information.

Spammers, scammers, and get rich quick schemes (even i they say "This is not a get-rich-quick scheme") are still toddling around to reap the benefits of a culture that is just getting used to all this.

Standing for honesty and integrity

Nevertheless, things are shifting. Less and less are people attracted to Click-bait-headlines. What gets more and more attention is honesty and integrity.

And as trust is not built over night, this road is uninteresting for the ones who are in for the quick success.

It's a longer road. And thank god it is!

An invaluable process for every creator

It's a road that, for me as a writer is challenging and at the same time invaluable for my own personal evolution. It's the practice of proofing myself that I can live in integrity and honesty with myself and the world - as consistently as possible.

For all the bloggers, speakers, writers, poets, novelists, vloggers, film-makers, story-tellers and all other content creators. This - at least in my eyes - is an opportunity of a lifetime. Obviously scary as your work might not always seem to be appreciated and as there are always  others who are more "successful" quicker. 

But I believe that persistence and consistent integrity is not only a gift for others but one that is invaluable for ourselves. The reward is worth it. 

With that said, I wish you an amazing rest of the week. 

Sam


*except perhaps north-korea

---------

As always, I'd appreciate a share or an upvote or best of it all: Your comment with your point of view!

If you like the stuff that I do here, then you're welcome to subscribe (feel free, there's unlimited space) or go on my channel and read a few other posts. 

talk soon, Sam

Sort:  

When my mother in law first mentioned this place, I thought she was crazy! I'm still new here as well, not super geeky or techy, so that little bit of fear is still there somewhat. But I have found that it's super cool to just come and use this as an escape place. Reading what others have been doing or maybe going through doesn't make it seem like I'm the only crazy one here. LOL. I really enjoyed this post!

thank you @squirrellyma :) haha, no I believe you're certainly not the only crazy one here, and talking about fear - I know for sure that you're not. thanks for checking in here, I'll be excited to talk to you soon!
all the best on your journey!
Sam

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Its always a pleasure! Youre exactly right my friend... We live in a time where our point of view will be heard, whether they want to hear it or not! Its a beautiful thing. We should not only appreciate that opportunity but also take that opportunity! Great post!
-smylie2005

I enjoyed your enthusiasm! The thing is I am super excited because I just joined steemit and with reading your thoughts on written I can truly experience the glance of encouragement for my future posts! Thank you for sharing! You have at least a reader more!

yay @vee.nathalee welcome, and thanks for sharing this. It was awesome to read from you AND all the best on your journey here on steemit! :)
best wishes to you! and I hope we'll talk soon!

It is the beauty of it all isn't it? I have met so many amazing people, that I would not normally have come into contact with. The one thing I have learned over the past few months. Write from your heart, make it genuine. Those are the best posts. People being real on how they feel, how they think.

yes @tryskele I agree! People connect to people, and not to robots (or robot-like-posts) thanks for your thoughts! i really appreciate it! :)
Sam

I mean... it's so easy to forget, that 30 years ago, there was almost none of that.

It's crazy that the WWW as we know it only really came into existence in 1990. I'm not sure if you were even born then lol... It is super exciting that we can share our thoughts online and by doing so connect with people all over the world.

BTW, you can use the@asapers banner found in the discord channel - Pub - pinned posts :) Only if you would like too :)

haha, no, I was born in 92. I lived the past 2 years in Budapest, and up unitl 1989, the country was closed due to communism, it's incredible how our world changed. not to mention the freedom we have to travel and enter (almost all countries).

It's an interesting world we live in, both good and bad changes have happened and will come to pass again. You are about the same age as my youngest brother.

Sam, some great content here, full of positivity. Great to see people like you sharing more love than anything else. I agree, this is an amazing opportunity AND we should be building each other up. As they say, 'let's root for each other grow'. Following you!!

aw, So glad to read this @yasminep thank you so much!! i'm going straight over to your channel and you out now! :)))) hopefully talk soon! :)
Sam

Thank you for this inspirational post that all of us content creators should be reminded of, as well as anyone who has access to social media interaction. Honesty and integrity are two most important values which we need to fight for especially in a platform like this where there is opportunity but also possible greed.

I also featured this post on my Minnow Fridays mini curation project (I'm late though as it's already Sunday). This is part of the #newbieresteemday initiative. Keep creating quality content :)

thank you @wanderlass oh god, I appreciate it so much! And I will do my best in the future too! :) Have a great rest of your sunday!
Sam

You're welcome and you have a nice day/ night as well :)

Wow, @sams-world
13 days on the platform, and wiser words than some that have been here for years.
;0)
First encounter, but you’ve got yourself a new follower...

Hey Mike! :) thank you so much for your words! Damn, you drew a smile on my face! Hope to talk soon to you again!!
Sam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90