You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILVER LINING #7

in #writing7 years ago

I picked everything but the trikes (and considering I've spent a decent chunk in South East Asia I don't know why I missed that, must be getting old in my old age XD) and the Air Jordans, go me XD I think you're doing a pretty good job describing things from a child's/generally unfamiliar with this stuff pov.

I love the unreliable narrator, what better way to keep us readers guessing and thinking! And Ledd is such an amusing narrator XD

Glad that everything ended well, oh my goodness Zepp's poor mother, I so feel for her! Also really glad the bully scene didn't happen. That one actually took me a little while to sort out seeing as Ledd described them as "men", thought process went something along the lines of:

  • how old is this freaking child again?!
  • what the hell kind of adult does that to a kid?! What special kind of defective are they?
  • wait Ledd said "men" not "giants" so maybe they're his size
  • oh they'd be other kids. Alrighty then

I do appreciate these insights into your/their lives behind the story as well, it makes it that much more...I'm not sure what really but definitely something :)

Sort:  

These days I'm wondering if the reason I'm writing an accurate depiction is because I'm operating with a child's POV :O In all seriousness though, thank you for the compliment regarding Ledd as the narrator. This is my first time writing in the first-person, and validation like this is surely encouraging. I quite like his unreliability, especially when there are expositions born from the things he doesn't say/know.

Haha! That thought process really made my day! Thanks so much for sharing that :D I'm very careful with the words I choose to use, so I'm glad that you picked it up in a very entertaining fashion. Comments like this are awesome! It really tells the story of how the story was interpreted. Warms my heart to have readers like you and @dreemit, among a few others, who are enjoying the story and continually take the time to share your thoughts :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49