A DAY TO FORGET

in #writing7 years ago

What would I call that day; what word is best to describe how I felt that eventful day supposedly haven't been coined yet. It was, in all simplicity -a day to forget! It's been twelve months past but the memories still lies vivid as though it took place just a couple of days ago. But what really went wrong?It goes this way. On the ninth of Dec., two thousand and sixteen (if my memory serves me right) that Victory -my ex girlfriend had returned from the NYSC camp for a short Xmas break. She had rung to inform me she's back in town after spending nearly seven months away at Federal Capital Territory (F.C.T). It's been a while since I last saw her and as anyone would expect, I'd planned to go pay her a visit soon -presumably, the following day.
On getting to her place (after rounding up with school earlier in the day), I was forced to wait even longer at her home as it seems she was busy indoors. Her two other siblings were out including her Dad too save her and napping momma. Needless to say, the home chores went to her for the day. Later on, she did excused herself to come see me after spending half an hour waiting. "Sorry, I kept you waiting. She grinned. "[I] hope I didn't irritate you?" "Irritate?" I retorted. "God, I was like two minutes away from leaving this place. You've annoyed me now. Really" "I'm sorry nowww. Ahh Ahhh. [I] was busy doing some kitchen work inside" "I'm sorry, okay? please come in". And I did. Well, in all honesty, I wasn't too happy that I sat for that long; but truth be told, I would have stayed all evening just to see her. I mean, I was that crazy about her!

We had stayed for about an hour doing nothing but talking, having bouts of short laughter and simply enjoying ourselves. I was particularly keen on her NYSC experience and how she'd coped with it. "So far so good, it hasn't been all bad". She replied leaving behind a weak smile. "OK. [We] thank God for that. You know, I would appreciate it if you found time to reciprocate this gesture someday" "What?" "I said, I...I...I would love you to come around -this Friday. You know, it's been quite..." "Baby..." she cuts in. "That is not on my mind like right now. I just came back, I need rest. You know that, don't you?" "Of course" I chuckled. She knew perfectly what "come around" implied and was swift to laughed it off. I've dated Victory for quite some time now (approx. one year and two months) and I'm quite aware of some of her mannerisms. She could be willful when she wants to. As such, it's pointless. "Pestering her won't do any good" I did thought.

                                    ***

The fateful day (Friday) came and while I was doing my laundries, pressing some of my clothes and doing a few other things, when Victory showed up unexpectedly and to my utter amazement. "Surpriseee!" she yelled as I opened to look who was at the other side of the gate. She actually did show up. I was short of words. "Wow" I exclaimed. I could remember the first time I tried this with her, it took me ten months and nearly all of my energies and resources too to get her to bend her Will to mine. I'd imagine something of that sort was impending. But no, it wasn't to be. She had given in, (agreed to) in four days as compared to ten months! "I bet you weren't expecting me. Were you?" "Babe, I wasn't, You looked indifferent last time we met, soo...ooo, I didn't know what to expect" "I'm here now" she said with an eyebrow raised.
I was pressing my shirts and was still at it while she was at the gate. She came in and saw them. She had asked me to let her help me press one while we talked. I did. I'd bought her, her favourite snack -popcorn. We moved on to something else -movies. We watched one interesting one. She liked it. I remember, we paused intermediately to smooch. In time, she left her seat and had opted for my thighs. Things had moved pretty fast. And, in no time, we were all over each other. "Shall we?" "Absolutely" She agreed. She gently moved into position after a quick refresh in the bath. "Baby, hmmm, don't stay too long. Not like the other time, okay?" I okayed in a sly smile. Truth be told, it happened that I didn't last five minutes. Five minutes! I don't really know but for reason(s), I'd lost my virility just when I needed it most. "It" bowed and had rebuffed attempts to resuscitate. "What's happening?" I muttered. She grew restless. Just then, it hit me I hadn't use my drug -one that was meant to enhance my performance. "But why do I need a drug?" I'd asked myself. I had used it the other time (the first and only time I'd used such) because, it was my first time (with her) and had kinda wanted to impress her which I thought I did. Could it be my system has instantaneously developed a dependency to that drug after just one act of consumption? There's no telling with certainty how possible that was. I had its leftover from my first experience with her which I'd toss away somewhere. But there's no chance in hell she would agree to my using of "that" on her again, even if I asked her. Memories from the first act had already kept her in a near-pleading state right from the onset. As such, it was never going to happen. Her acute sense of observation would not let me contemplate going behind her back to on top my wardrobe where I had it stored.
It was getting quite messy and embarrassing. My "old man" had long shrank to its natural state yet there was a curvy looking woman still in front of me. It can't get any worse! "Baby, hmmm...mmm, this won't be happening today. Dunno, it's kind of confusing". She got up, dressed up and then sat up. "It's OK. I understand" "I understand"? What really does she understands? I kept thinking. I had gone on a flight of anxious and ceaseless thinking out. This has only affirmed to her that the other day wasn't actually me. Some drug had helped me out. The look on her face didn't express much. "I'm not too happy but it's OK" was in my best guess, the plausible message on her face.

                                   ***

We were twenty-four then (I was older with few months, though) and had fancied the thought of marrying in thirty months time or less but then, it seemed she had, had a rethink on that because from that day onwards, our relationship had been in a downward spiral. Less calls, lesser number of messages and no more face to face meetings because she now claims to be 'busy'. Too 'busy' that even someone like your boyfriend can no longer hook up with you. Right!

In due time, I had asked her to come out straight with me. She did. She professed she wants out for just no clear reason. I believe, though, it was not unconnected with dreadful day. Now, I tend to think of the resources I spent on/and with her. If I had to calculate the culminating amount spent of my fifteen months with her, it more than enough to rebrand and re-stock my desperate-looking wardrobe. I remember, some time ago, my younger brother asked me in one of our many chitchats; which is more of a liability (from an economist's point of view) -a girlfriend or a car. I don't know what prompted him to ask that, but was unsure of it (the answer) myself. Not now. Wake me from a nap and I'll give you the needed answer! All in all, I think less of whatever I was able to do for her but more about her. That day had cost me my relationship. In retrospect, it was a day I just won't forget in a hurry!

PS: This work is entirely fictitious -a piece of my leisure. Nothing more. Please if you like this, don't copy. Just upvote, comment and resteem. Thanks.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rvn126996! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rvn126996! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53