Trolls Around The Solar System (Part 9 - Uranus)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The previous parts can be read here: Part 1 (Mercury) - Part 2 (Venus) -Part 3 (Mars) - Part 4 (The Asteroid Belt) - Part 5 (Jupiter) - Part 6 (Jovian Moons) - Part 7 (Saturn) - Part 8 (The Moons Of Saturn) 


The DIY rocket left Saturn and continued its journey towards the seventh planet from the Sun, Uranus. T-800 kept bombarding the trolls with information about the moons of Saturn and our three little friends were too tired to listen any more. Luckily, they were about to reach Uranus soon, so a new interesting tour was going to start!

- I could never imagine that there are so many things T-800 knows! This robot is a moving encyclopedia, X42 said.

- Actually, I know a lot more than an encyclopedia, because my database is regularly updated, T-800 said.

- Hey guys! Look! The blue gas giant! X31 shouted.

- This is Uranus, right? With a color like this there is no wonder why they named it after god Ouranos, which means sky in Greek, X42 said.

- Yes, the color justifies the name, X31 agreed. Do you know why it looks blue-green? It's from the methane. The planet's atmosphere is mostly made up from hydrogen, less helium and a bit of methane.

- There are also ammonia and water traces, T-800 added.

- The planet is the coldest in the solar system, temperatures can fall to -224°C, X31 said. It has a small rocky core where temperatures can reach even near 5,000°C, but as you move to the outer layers, you will see only gases under extreme pressures and temperatures will fall, because heat from the core is not enough to warm the planet up.

- I guess we are not landing here either, are we? X42 asked.

- Unfortunately, no, T-800 answered. 

- This planet is wonderful though, X31 started explaining. It has such a great tilt of near 98° that it rotates almost on its side. Probably a collision with another body resulted in this. Mark also that it has a retrograde orbit, which means it moves around the Sun the opposite way our Earth does.

- Ha! That's funny! Venus does the same, right? X54 said.

- Right! And what's even more weird is that a day here lasts about 17 hours but a year takes 84 Earth-years, T-800 added.

- But it has to have seasons, I mean it does not revolve vertically like Jupiter, X42 noticed.

- This is correct, X42, X31 said. Uranus has long-lasting seasons, summer here takes 20 years before it ends. The planet experiences also extreme weather conditions. 

- Yes, imagine that winds can blow at 900 kilometers per hour here, T-800 said. Around the equator they blow the opposite way to the planet's rotation, but near the poles they blow to a prograde direction.

- Like three spinning air rings! X54 noticed.

- Kind of, X31 said. 

- The magnetic field is also weird here, T-800 added. Its axis is tilted 60° from the planet's rotational axis, so the two poles don't concur. 

- It is lop-sided too, X31 added. At the north hemisphere the magnetic field is 10 times stronger than at the southern. That affects the auroras as well. 

- You know what guys? Before we came here, I thought the planet was going to be bigger, X42 said.

- Well, it's not as big as Jupiter, but it is four times the size of the Earth, X31 answered.

- This planet has also a ring system, T-800 added.

- Oh, yes! I can see them, X54 said.

- As you can see, the inner rings are darker and thin, whereas the outer two have brighter colors, T-800 continued.

- Yes, the one is blue and the other red, X54 pointed out.

- Uranus certainly looks to have a bunch of moons too, X42 noticed.

- 27 we know so far, X31 replied. 

- I can't see anything, X54 complained.

- You need to look carefully because they are small and dark, T-800 advised.

- Oh! Now I think I can make out one, X54 said.

- Can Uranus host life? X42 asked.

- With such extreme weather conditions? It's next to impossible, X31 answered.

- Raging storms, crazy winds and diamond rain make pretty hostile an environment, don't you think? T-800 asked.

- Diamond rain?! Here?! No kidding! X42 was excited.

- Oooh yeah! X31 said. Below the surface, in the extremely heated and pressurized atmosphere of the planet carbon and hydrogen are compressed to form real diamonds, which slowly travel to finally rest near the super hot core of the planet.

- I just wish we could dive and see it first hand! X54 said.

- Me too, X42 agreed.

- That would be amazing, but if we want to stay alive I'd say we didn't, X31 advised. Don't forget, beauty sometimes can kill.

- All right, let's keep going, X42 sounded a bit disappointed. What's our next stop?

- Neptune! T-800 answered.

- Neptune, here we come! X54 shouted enthusiastically.

And the troll team continued their journey to the eighth and final planet of the solar system. Their cosmic tour is slowly coming to an end. They have seen so many wonderful sights and learnt so many amazing things that this experience will surely be remembered as the best of their lives.

To be continued...


References

solarsystem.nasa.gov
space.com
space-facts.com

If you want to now more about the amazing phenomenon of diamond rain, you can read these posts from @muphy: Diamonds in The Sky - Part 3: Diamond Oceans (Episode 1/2) & Diamonds in The Sky – Part 3: Diamond Oceans (Episode 2/2)

* Images and original story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018  

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

Love this series, as I have always been fascinated by our own solar system. Amazing how small it is, compared to the rest of what's out there, yet the distances are already beyond imagination. As are the conditions on these planets... you explain it all really well in your stories, yet its hard to comprehend what it would really be like there.... phew, winds of 900 km/h? That would definitely knock you off your socks. The fastest I ever went on my motorcycle was a bit over 220 and that was pretty scary on a naked bike (motorcycle without body/windshield)...

Thank you!! :)

Running on the motorcycle at a bit over 220?!?! You're way too brave! I've only done it in a car at about 200 and was a bit disappointed, because on the highway you could not feel the rush, the drive was too smooth. Being totally exposed must be a whole different feeling!

Those worlds have that sweet destruction that lures you, don't you think? You know that they will swallow you and drag you into painful deterioration, but you still remain curious to see what this deterioration looks like... now that I think about it, it's almost like love, passion to be more precise ;)

Car and motorcycle are a whole different story, particularly, when the bike isn't "covered". I don't know the right word... you know those racing bikes? The front is kind of covered by a body like shape, to make it more aero dynamic and to protect the driver from the wind. Which is really serious! The first time ever I did (only) 140 on a naked bike, I thought I'd get blown off of it.

Yes, these planets are really fascinating. We think they are friendly, because they seem so familiar and have all these wonderful names. That makes us forget, what hostile worlds they really are...

Hahaha.. well, I guess I'm to old to be longing for destructive passion. Have had my share of it already... enough for a life time :-b

Your posts are always interesting and informative @ruth-girl. But most of all I'm looking forward to your short-stories :) Oh, yes, I think I forgot something else - I really liked the robot at the end of your video, do not tell me where you can buy it? I wanted to make an unusual gift to my little sister.

Thank you for your kind words dear @floxxy!!

The robot was a gift, my friend got it from a toy store chain, here you can find the producer's home page:
http://www.silverlit.com/a/shop/?filter_product-category=279
I believe your sister will love it! It records your voice, moves around and even has a smartphone app to move it yourself!

I have nothing to thank @ruth-girl, for you are the one who keeps part of your soul and character in your posts. Therefore, your messages are sometimes as alive and they are really nice to read. I think many will agree with me that in real life you are very interesting conversationalist. And attention, thanks and comments are the result of your work. I do not know about you, but it's always pleasant for me to return home after work to see a few warm words in my address left by a complete stranger :)

This is a pretty fun and amazing way to 'tour' our solar system. I really like it. Your tiniest little troll is adorable. I know I am meant to pay attention to the details of our solar system, but I love miniatures and that tiny little guy is just calling to me.

What other adventures will they have? Will they travel to the cellular level of human life? A microscopic journey?

Oh! Thank you so much for reading that! And my troll says thank you for the compliment :)

Will they travel to the cellular level of human life?

Are you reading my mind? That was among a few other ideas on future series! :P

Excellent. Hopefully we get to see Miranda and it's cliffs next time.

Thank you!! Well, they are taking a tour of the moons, so they will definitely see Miranda ;)

Here's some light reading before they arrive at Miranda...Verona Rupes

I got it bookmarked! Thank you! :)

Lol. The trolls finally arrive uranus.

The planet is the coldest in the solar system, temperatures can fall to -224°C, X31 said. It has a small rocky core where temperatures can reach even near 5,000°C

I've learnt something new. I've always thought that pluto was the coldest. Oh damn! Pluto ain't even a planet anymore :D
Nice piece buddy

"The planet is the coldest in the solar system, temperatures can fall to -224°C, X31 said. It has a small rocky core where temperatures can reach even near 5,000°C"

It's hot in the deep depths of uranus!

And if anyone gets in, will be scorched to oblivion!

I am very interested in this paper.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88