A Formidable Swimmer

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Paul would always boast about what an excellent swimmer he was. About how many miles he would cover without getting tired and how many seconds he could hold his breath underwater.

Definitely a lot.

But not enough to untie the ropes around his hands and feet and make his way out of that chest at the bottom of the sea.


*Original image (with Nikon D3400) and story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

This was a short write-up I had been saving from my high school years. Inspired by a book written by an Italian writer, Barbara Garlaschelli, I remember how fascinated I was when I got hold on her book "Wear red at their funeral" (I don't know what the original title is in Italian). A collection of stories, pages drenched in black humor, sarcasm and cynicism beyond words that made quite an impression on my teenage mind. Now I just wish I could read it again, but it is hard to come across, I had borrowed it from our school library back then. Most bookstores don't have it now.

I remember after having read that book, I experimented and wrote a couple of stories following the same style. When I read the first one to my mother she looked at me all puzzled and asked me: "Honey, are you sure you 're ok?". She was more worried I might be in need of psychological support and could not share my enthusiasm on my first piece of writing.

From that day on, I never let her read any of my stories (but from time to time she spies on my steemit blog and tries to read with the broken english she knows and she is secretly proud of me, but that's what mothers do)

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people! 

Sort:  

Your photos are getting better and better Ruth! This one is absolutely beautiful.
Ps: your mum sounds sweet 😊
I wish you a lovely Saturday evening! 😘

Thank you Abi!!! I'm trying with the basics and I loooooove it!!

Hehe! She is (and that's enough to make me feel bad for all the times I get angry at her).
Have a great Saturday too! :D

You are sweet!

This reminds me of a website from long ago, which had the following task:

  1. write two sentences.
  2. create tension between them.
  3. define "tension" any way you want.

Here is one of the examples:
She felt the hand move up her back.
Surely it was a hand.

Or, here is another one:

She took a sip of coffee.
I swallowed.

We could try something like that here on Steemit too....

This reminds me oh the @horrorphiles account I follow on instagram,

And another story on the book I mentioned under the title "On equal terms":
They both had one bullet in their guns.

And yes, it would make a great contest idea or challenge! Perhaps once your contest is done we could make something out of it ;)

Yes......
So it's a June thing then.! :)

Sure! :D

ruthie your writing rocks...its not a compliment its the truth... i never read....i don't like reading...
...i don't know why but i read your stories...you got the magic 'touch'.....keep on

I am really flattered @funnel! Well if my writing gets you intrigued you could check out @snarksnark and @imaginedragon, you might like their style :)

Thank you :)

Don't mention it! ^_^

My dad use to look at the titles of books I would read and one week I read a true crime book; "Say You Love Satan." A few weeks later I was reading the Satanic Bible. He asked me the same thing. He was scared until I explained I was fine and it was just curiosity for one and I love true crime books. Of course, if he read my stories now he might try to commit me lol

Haha! We are always inquiring, experimenting, learning. I believe we should try various genres. They will always teach you something...

"Say You Love Satan" huh? Now that's a title to keep aspiring Don Juans off at the beach this summer :P

LOL yes, it will :) It is actually a really good book.

I believe Paul's abilities betrayed him. But how would he have untied himself inside water? That would take longer than an average human would hold his breath. Except he has gills :)

No he has no gills. He only has loads of self confidence that ends up being arrogance, pride (and pride is one of the seven deadly sins, you know)

That's too bad for him.

and pride is one of the seven deadly sins, you know

Truism Ruthie; pride has a way of beclouding one's sense of judgement and perception.

If your mom reads your posts on the steemit and does not comment on them, I can conclude that your mother has angelic patience! 🙂

Haha! She does have angelic patience, but she doesn't have a steemit account :P

I'm not a big fan of swimming but am a big fan of adventures and would do my best to swim towards buried treasure, given the opportunity.

And what if you found Paul inside a treasure chest?

Help him out.

No! I'm not that good a swimmer :P

Hello dear friend, I recently joined to steem and met your blog, I really like your posts cause i like physics, cosmology and discover how created this universe and adventure as like you. I upvoted and follow you, please see my blog to support each other. thanks for sharing useful and beautiful posts. have good time.

Thank you!

But just some friendly advice, it is not nice to ask for people to visit your blog and ask for upvotes. Have a nice day! :)

But not enough to untie the ropes around his hands and feet and make his way out of that chest at the bottom of the sea.

Wow that's is absolutely amazing.
Reading this story, it looks like a reality. Wonderful stuff

I like about your story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74