Wild Mind by Natalie GoldbergsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

51OqHsBeBJL._SY346_.jpg

Human isolation is terrible. We want to connect and figure out what it means to write. “How do you live? What do you think?” we ask the author. We all look for hints, stories, examples.

I've just bought again Natalie Goldberg's Wild Mind. I first had this book about twenty years ago. I was living in a caravan in a beautiful Welsh valley. My father had just died and I had no electricity, no phone, and lots of books. I started to write in the evenings, in exercise books which I expect I have lost.

I've been stuck in a terrible rut. I've been doing a more or less regular free-writing session every morning, but I've still been stuck. This morning I wrote to myself that I should buy Wild Mind again, and try and find something of the freedom I felt in the caravan. It was so peaceful.

In front of my table, a child's school desk, is a blank white wall. Outside the room are the noises of the classrooms, the building somehow managing to echo like the inside of a swimming pool, inside there is a conversation in a language I don't yet understand. There are no windows but I have not yet found anywhere else to set up and write.

In my caravan I had more books than I could hope to read, but I did read Joyce and, when I ground to a host with Oxen of the Sun, Homer. I wonder about the nostalgia of those Greek soldiers, squabbling around their campfires, and about how to find peace in a city.

I would like a #newtag, a #shareyourself. I've been on Steemit for 9 months, and so I can't really introducemyself again, but there is so much more I would like to say. I hoping that working through Wild Mind will help me do this.

Sort:  

Thank you for the raw look into writing life. I really do need to do a writer's resource post -- thank you for reminding me.

I can tell you there is a great site called Upwork.com that I started getting freelance copywriting jobs. Words are words are words -- if they pay the bills and I can write -- then my world is good.

Happy wording!

Oh AND look up Julia Cameron -- the sound of paper -- it is amazing essays with great exercises. Not only did I get out of my rut, I wrote a 80,000 word novel in three months.

Thanks for the links. I've come across Julia Cameron before -- Daily Pages -- and in a way use that. I can't quite express exactly what Wild Mind is bringing to me now -- I've only just today started working with it again -- but it was a huge relief to read a few pages this morning. it's a great book.

Don't stop, but don't be afraid to develop other writing resources until you can get back to where you want to be.

Me -- I write science fiction, but can't get an agent to see me to save my life. However, my business client bought me a new laptop (Yesterday!!)... so I know that I am not a horrible writer :)

En mi pais Venezuela dicen : el que persevera vence,,,, tienes que escribir lo que te plasca,,,, Garcia Marquez de Colombia tomo años escribiendo novelas, algunas sintio el deseo de lanzarlas a mar y no continuar pero en el presente murio con muchos reconocimiento como escritos a nivel internaciona.

gracias por tu comentario

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65