Introducing Steemshelves

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever gotten involved with a project and it takes off so fast that you might as well have saddled a rocket? Well, that’s how I feel about the Fiction Workshop and MSP’s PALnet Discord Channel. Things are happening so quickly I can barely keep up.

For example, this week we launched Steemshelves, a website similar to the SFT Library but populated by the fiction and creative works of Steemians who may or may not have been curated yet. It’s an independent project, the brainchild of @aggroed, and managed by the Fiction Workshop. All funds generated by Steemshelves go directly into The SFT and will eventually provide the means of offering payout incentives to curated authors.

WHAT IS STEEMSHELVES?

Steemshelves is a website where links to Steemit fiction are collected and “shelved” in one convenient, easy-to-access location. This is particularly beneficial to authors who write serialized work, like novels and novellas. Each author gets a page with a custom URL, profile pic, and author bio. The page will contain links to each series as well as a “you might also like” scroll across the bottom.

No legitimate fiction or creative work will be denied a shelf. NSFW links will carry a content warning and will not be featured on the home page. This is a pay-per-link system, at a rate of 2 SBD per link. That means a series of five posts would be 10 SBD. A series of six posts would be 12 SBD, and so on.

SO HOW DO AUTHORS GET A SHELF?

First, an author would transfer 2 SBD per link to the SFT. Paste the URL of each link in the memo. Fiction Workshoppers can send the links directly via DM. There’s also a link on the website that opens a contact form. This form requires your username, author bio and series blurb if you have one, and the URL of the post. These will be cross-referenced with SBD transferred into the SFT account. It can take 24-48 hours for links to appear on the site. If they are not on the site after that time, please feel free to send another message.

HOW WILL THIS BENEFIT ME AS AN AUTHOR?

It won’t, if you’re looking for a get-rich scheme or a fast-track to being “discovered.” The Shelves are a way to extract your best fiction from your blog and present it neatly and professionally as part of your ongoing promotional strategy. For example, if I want to share my short story “Space Horses” with someone via email, I don’t have to send five separate links. I can send one link to the website, which will look something like this: www . steemshelves . com/spacehorses. Or I can send people to www . steemshelves . com/rhondak and they can see a portfolio of all my posted work.

If you’re interested in a shelf, transfer 2 SBD per link (and the links!) to @sft. Then go to the website, click the link in the footer, and send us the rest of your information. Be sure to title photographs with your name.

Happy Steeming!

Visit the Fiction Workshop at the MSP PALnet Discord HERE.

DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

Sort:  

Can we create banners for this?

Yes, of course! :-)

Good idea, maybe everyone will support it. Success for STEEMSHELVES

Thank you! :-)

Another awesome idea. This should make organization easy.

meep

You said it all, right there, meep. This IS great for the fiction writers!

meep

I don't know, you should ask @rhondak if your book can be added.

Of course! We'd love to have a meep series. I think it would draw a lot of traffic that might otherwise not find our content interesting!

I know! Very exciting! I would like a signed copy when it's available!

I heard Meep's book is amazing. I can't wait to read it!

Excellent idea and happy to have my work there. Steemians now no longer have to dig through my blog to find my series. All in one place.

Resteemed.

Digging through your blog does turn up some gems, though. :-)

Wonderful initiative.

I'm not a writer as such, although I am planning on publishing a book based on my ephemeral art work. As an artist and photographer, I make assemblages, photograph them and in the process of sharing the images sometimes words and short phrases come.

Much of my work runs in series, but because I resteem more articles than my own, my own work gets lost.

I would love to have a shelf for my work. Is it possible for people who aren't entirely fiction writers to have a shelf?

I'm open to the idea of creating an art wing of the site, yes. Might not be a bad idea.

Wonderful. I imagine a lot of artists/photographers would also welcome the idea of an art wing.

Will stay in touch. Definitely 'in' for having a shelf in an art wing of Steem Shelves.

Restemeed. Best of luck to the best writers.

Thank you!

Wow, this is awesome! I cannot wait for steemit to have something similar

Hah! Yep, we fiction authors are swimming in the gravy right now. LOL!

hahaha, swimming in the gravy? Not sure I understand that one but it sounds fun :-)

Useful post & thanks for supporting me...

That is a very powerful tool for great writers. I often wonder what kind of genius is lost into the void of Steemit. To have been seen once but seen never again with how fast Steemit moves.

Exactly. I've wondered the same thing. That is part of the reasoning behind this idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52