Gatekeepers, Book Two: Order of Gravitas

in #writing6 years ago

GatekeepersTwoDigitalHighRes.png

(This is just my working cover, I'm still tweaking it.)

Ooh, what's this? A new book? By R.H. Morter? Is it Christmas already???

Well, not quite; it's only October. This is just marking the completion of my initial proofreading session, but it also means that this is quickly approaching release. I won't be releasing a paperback in the immediate future like I did with my first book, for two reasons. One, I don't have a final cover for my first two books since I'm currently working to get a professional one made. This one, and the one in use with my first book, are both made by myself using my limited abilities. And Two, I didn't exactly see a massive spike of interest in my paperback copies when I originally introduced them for my first book, despite people generally talking about preferring paperback. So, I'm not letting it delay the release of the digital version, since digital means I can swap out covers immediately. Eventually, I will have paperbacks released as well, but since I don't have an ETA on the professional covers yet, I don't have an ETA on the paperbacks.

This book, without giving too many spoilers for the first, follows the story of the first book six months after the events of the first. It mostly takes place in the massive floating city of Gravitas, holding the largest population of gravity casters in the land of Magnartica. The protagonists, some on purpose and others unwittingly, find themselves embroiled in a political conspiracy that only escalates throughout the story. But to say anymore would be offering spoilers to my own story, so I'll just leave it at that.

I will say, however, some characters will definitely be appearing in the story. This includes Alicia Deathwish(briefly), Guilt and Guile from the short story I posted earlier this week, and almost all the characters from the first book. I really enjoyed writing this story, and I hope those who read my first book are intrigued enough to give this one a read as well.

When I do publish the digital version, I will be running a promotional campaign where both the first and second book will be at either a reduced price or completely free. Stay tuned to this channel for details in the upcoming weeks.

Here is a link to the first book, for those interested.

Sort:  

Nice! Do you come home from work and immediately start writing????

you're a machine!

The usual schedule is I get home from work, take the dog out, feed the dog and eat something myself, then watch some youtube videos. I usually let some longer form videos play in the background or on the side while I write, especially if I'm proofreading for typos. It can vary, but I would estimate that I spend an average of an hour at least per day writing during the week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50