Does anyone else still use microsoft paint?

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I've been debating on using a different software, but haven't heard of any that sound like they would be easy to use.

I made this ad today for my website, offering free gift-wrapping on any of my books that people order. 

I used paint, and I think it turned out decent. However, it took  me about an hour because of the way that paint will automatically save your changes if you accidentally click outside the text box while you're creating your text. It was a hassle and I feel like I might be able to find another software that will save me time. After all, time is money, right? hahaha

Anyway, give me your suggestions! Thanks!

Sort:  

I still use it. I tried Gimp, it is not easy to learn, but it's free......

Gimp had my head swirling...and gave me a virus... :(

Do you mean a computer virus?

Ain't nothin' like "Old Paint". I try others but always get frustrated and disappointed...

I use paint for the absolute basic task of pasting a screenshot for example into the software so I can save it as a proper .jpeg but for anything even slightly more advanced I believe Adobe Photoshop is the way to go.

I suppose if you put some effort in you can make something impressive with paint but photoshop is just so much more versatile and easier to use, it's been properly designed with artists and photographers in mind.

Just learned after googling that with their latest addition though they've gone and forced everybody to buy their fucking cloud service and pay a monthly/yearly fee instead of buy the software as normal! What a rip off! Even software developers seem to be getting utterly ridiculous with the DRM now.

Yeah, paint is free...that's why I use it! hahaha

What a total bunch of shitheads, I really like using Photoshop and would have supported them if I ended up making money from what I do, I wish I hadn't found that out because it looks like they're doing the same thing with Maya :(

It looks like the only thing sensible people will be able to do now is pay them the yearly fee once perhaps and then torrent it so they can use it infinitely.

boom, truth lol

I use paint for turning screenshots into jpegs, otherwise I use Inkscape, GIMP or PhotoShop for any flyer, banner or image work.

I might check out Inskcape...

There can be a bit of a learning curve to it, but it's the best I've used for creating some pretty clean SVGs.

Gimp is my main man. There should be a Video available on Youtube for most stuff you need to do on Gimp.
And it's free.

I might check that out again...maybe I have it confused with something else that I tried before.

Just followed you after your comments on my meme. I am so glad someone is saying things like this about Paint, we all think LOL!! Use it? It is the only thing I know how to use LOL!!!!

This is a great post! I was pondering for a week now doing something similar to ask or joke about it too!!!! That title was bang on perfect.

Seconding GIMP. It is kind of hard to learn. I have to look up tutorials almost every time I need to do anything with it. Images aren't my bag, but GIMP is powerful. Canva.com is web based, and it's a lot more intuitive for making things like banner ads, cover pics, profile pics, whatever.

I wonder how quick my learning curve would be on it since I'm wanting to save myself some time. Guess I should check it out when I don't have a deadline.

I sometimes use paint.NET for simple tasks, I think it's still free. For combining text with graphics and doing one-page layouts I would use Adobe Illustrator, but that is not free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55