Do your belongings resonant with you?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0062.JPG
The tree attracted me to this image stored in iphoto so I put it up as a screensaver and noticed the other items in the photo.

Let me explain what is in the photograph leaning against the windowsill. The dark square is a portable massage table.

On the windowsill an ‘I Ching’ hexagram with mirror, a type of protection square, by the way that room did not burn down but I guess at the time that was not in the window or maybe it got packed away somewhere.

Next to it is an orange glass orb given to us by my aunt. I will have to find out if that survived the fire.

This photo was taken long ago before our home burnt throughout the inside and the roof fell. I had no idea there were items in the shot. Once exploring the photograph I decided to share a few thoughts with you.

Wisdom vs PTS

Take any disaster in your life and use it as a teaching by doing so it becomes one of the best things that can happen to you. Instead of being a victim you become wiser.

Wisdom is a wonderful thing. Now it does not happen overnight. So if you are going through anything of this nature let me first say you have my sympathy because the post-traumatic syndrome is no piece of cake. Seek help right away.

Things that bring you joy

Do your things around you have value to you? If not remove them.
I am not talking about people; I am referring to all the ‘things’ you live with on a daily basis. You want things that vibrate with who you are and bring you joy.

Motivation to declutter

Writing this is creating a great initiative to declutter again. It is so easy to let things stack up while living in a small space.

Remember the one-minute post? In case you did not see it the basic principle is to take one minute and do anything. You will see the improvement and want to do more. This is a great help for many procrastinators.

Keep only the things that lift you

This not about the personal possessions, this is about what resonants with you while enjoying your life.

I hope you enjoyed this post.

feel free to comment and upvote

follow @rebeccabe

Sort:  

Beautiful description!! it seem this picture has many sad memories

it doesn't make me sad anymore.. a long road for sure. We did not have insurance and became homeless. It really at this point looking back was the best thing that could have happened to me. A great teaching in my life.

I am sorry about your fire. Clutter is a big foe of mine.

Make clutter your friend @old-guy-photos lol
The fire was my greatest teacher.

You will learn a lot in your life because of this attitude @rebeccabe

I appreciate you saying that

beautiful expressions, lookng forward to hear more frrom you

Loosing things to a fire is hard, when I was a kid a relative burned down our home, the things that were salvaged, a little old wooden chair my Grandfather had made for me and the photos that were salvaged meant more than all the stuff I lost.

oh no, so sorry you went through that and as a child as well.

Great words touched the soul
Im a photographer feel free to take a look at my blog and get some inspiration

what a nice post

i love this post

what did you like about it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85