Don't forget to tip!

in #writing8 years ago

Having had the experience lately to work in food-delivery, I got the chance to see how people tip. Spoiler alert: people who don't tip suck :(

The idea is that tips really change the whole job. It's not about the financial side as much as a feeling of reward for your effort. Sure, you could say, in the price of the food, delivery is included so WHY should I pay anything extra? I'll let you be the judge of that.

I remember an old say: " someone who is nice with you, but it's not nice with the waiter, is not a nice person". I used to think this is wrong, why should I care who's anyone nice to, as long sa they are nice to me?!
heh, being young and stupid, right?!
IT speaks volume on who and what people appreciate, no matter what their position in life..and I find more and more, that I admire people who are nice and appreciate of whoever as long as those people are ok in turn. At a humane level, is the person delivering the food any worse than you, an architect or corporate hotshot?

It's a different experience, doing something like this, and I urge anyone to try it if they get the chance - especially if you're young. It might change the way you think forever.

So what do you think? Do you tip the food delivery? How about the people bringing you packages? does it matter if they come by bike or by car? Share your opinion!

Sort:  

Always tip when going out for dinner or such but never tipped the mail man :) Maybe i´ll try it some time, if he delivers on time ;)

haha. now that's a person i'd never tip being on a pretty good wage + does not personally deliver.

i tip the waiters, bar & restaurant and only the pizza delivery man :D

haha. if he's cute? I tip at bar and restaurant and sometimes food delivery at home....but of course, in this case, if you deliver by bike or by foot i think tipping is ok, when people try to beat traffic to get you the goodies :D

if he's cute i tip more :D

so superficial :D

learned from the best :P

Tipping is okay if disconnected from employment for labor. Gifting another person is a nice gesture. Making it part of your compensation for work is a ripoff by the employer.

Employers should pay a wage to workers. If workers want to work for free and depend on the kindness of strangers for their subsistence, they need to sign an agreement stating such and suffer the consequences. Of course, this logic goes in one ear and out the other because tipping is so carved into the U.S. culture. Not all cultures tip and when they go abroad they take their no-tipping attitude with them; they don't even know what it is.

hehe. is thee really a culture that does not tip in any circumstanceS?!

Raar, I grin and ask them if they want some steem then no matter what they say I punch them in the MOUTH and tell them to get off my land! :OD

this is the perfect thing to do :)) you must be popular with deliveries :))))

I don't get anything anymore! ;0)

dude awesome you are back !

@razvanelulmarin hey, I was supposed to go to bed and saw this
am glad you're back!
rock on man!

It's great to see you posting! My mom was a waitress when I was little so I always tip as much as I can. Many times adding an extra $5 to a tip doesn't mean much to me but it might really make a difference to the person providing a service.

thanks man!!
yes, i agree, having direct knowledge on how tips affect your life, usually make for a better tipper, right? I bet you enjoyed that Pulp Fiction discussion, right?

That scene is actually one of my favorites in any movie!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55