13-Word Stories by QuietDeluxe [IS NOW] Your Daily Writing Prompt by QuietDeluxe #12 [PLUS] Other Interesting Things

in #writing7 years ago

13-Word Stories.png

She just went for it! No one seemed to have an opinion anyway.


I Just Went For It

Who doesn't like writing prompts? This seemed like a natural evolution. My 13-Word Stories weren't that great anyway. I was unable to recapture the essence of Six Word Stories. The concept apparently originally born in the 1920's and attributed to Ernest Hemingway, but this is unconfirmed.

What is confirmed is that 6 words is the perfect length, and I probably should have gone with that instead of 13. Seriously, check out these 6-word memoirs or these 6-word sequels.

This is giving me a ton of ideas and inspiration!

So Here's What I'll Do

I'm going to continue creating the 13-Word Stories, but they are now 13-Word Writing Prompts. I am NOT using any reference material for these prompts. They come straight from my brain and into this text box. So, they are not just rehashed from somewhere else on the web or copied. They are EXCLUSIVE to Steemit!

I am seriously considering reviving 6-Word Stories here on Steemit. I am not the originator of the above-linked Twitter account, but that is where I got the idea and concept. This was obviously not new to that individual either since it has deeper roots in the writing world.

Why Only Six Words?

It's a heck of a challenge. You can't say much in 6 words, but one in a while, 6 words can be most profound. The urban legend about Hemingway and the 6-Word Story is that he penned this on on a bet:

For sale: baby shoes. Never worn.

(For comic relief from the seriousness of this story, hit the 6-word sequels link above. ^^^

Feedback?

I'm not getting any, but would like some. I'm going to be here doing my thing regardless, but I'd rather do it with you. Holla.

Sort:  

This is incredible! Love it. @quietdeluxe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59311.47
ETH 2603.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40