Dear Steemit (Validating)

in #writing8 years ago

The world just got bigger thinking about you. Also, sweeter. I've been gearing up to take on a challenging new project, wondering what it will be. Cheese-making? Starting a business? I've been dreading it, too, suspicious that certain choices might be so demanding as to require losing touch with some deeper calling.

So, you can imagine how ecstatic I am for this opportunity to explore the gift that Steemit is. Almost immediately, Steemit reminded me that being a writer means evolving as a writer and that this could be the challenge I've been waiting for. I can really stretch and surprise myself in this study of how to connect, with the goal of being as genuine, as polished and as relevant and revelling as so many in this community are. At my own pace, in good company, I can tackle the question of what Steemit can thrive as and how I can contribute. What a relief for learning to blog to be so easy and such a fascinating opportunity to actually and clearly develop!

When I started the pulpably blog, I'd envisioned its voice as that of a hyper-concise robot, someone so totally dedicated to not wasting your time that she might as well be nothing more than an interface. I don't regret the style of my earliest articles, but I immediately recognized that their tone despaired of connection. Like "Here, pin this and reference it. Trust me." But I wasn't earning the trust.

Actually, I always did use to change the sound of my voice when I played around with a 4-track and I'm getting ready to buy myself a little looping app and some filters, so it's neither phony nor unwriterly of me to take on an assumed voice. (Laurie Anderson rocks it.) But the point is I'm letting you in. I have not historically been someone who is easy to get to know. I'm a recluse who is uncertain what to do with her hair, next, but who likes to pour love on kindred spirits met as strangers.

I've been re-arranging my approach to society these past years and am dreaming up positive experiences. Steemit is an obvious alternative to bickering on Facebook. I imagine engaging in conversation instead of just sharing opinionated memes. I imagine reading articles that are refreshingly human.

Looking forward to getting to know you,
Pulpably
Brittany Anne O'Dell

(I chose to validate with video, which apparently is accessible only by link. Now I'm wishing I'd included a still photo. Oh well. Next time.)

https://photos.google.com/album/AF1QipO2BC0c71smmijQpmjBlGvBVLTuSXtVEa65eI2W/photo/AF1QipPeQ1Imy1lVFm7rnXiPwZaV1e3zo4jbSpFMZeTq

Sort:  

One of the reasons that I am writing this from iPad since it is the best there is for musicmaking apps. It is ok at a lot of things, and isn't really any good for delving into cryptocurrencies, but such is life, you can't have everything.
If you want a music app and have iOS based device, try Propellerheads Figure. Its cheap, its fun. It is not a sampler, so you can't do anything with yiur voice though.

Nice! I have been playing with a free voice changer and it's endless fun. I don't think I'll ever make music seriously, but I do enjoy the amazing tools available now. I'll definitely look into Propellerheads Figure. Thanks for the recommendation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32