The City under the Sky of Stone Part Six - Original fiction

in #writing7 years ago

by Michael Warner Molema

The corridors of West Cave Apartments were quiet. The patterned carpets that covered the floors muffled most sound, combined with the colour of the walls and the lighting, gave the area a feeling of warmth and homeliness. I was dressed as one of the staff, in black trousers, shoes and waistcoat. The face I wore was not my own, another Mask of Disguise hid my true face. As my original mask had been seized by Illumination security, I was using one of Yusuf’s.

I made my way down the corridors to the western most end of the apartment block that overlooked the Mire Sciences building. I found myself on the top floor, where Vanessa’s apartment was located and hopefully the Suggestion Stone. I followed the corridor until I reached suite 636. I checked the corridor was empty before I pulled out my wand and touched it to the lock. I muttered words of magic and glowing disks appeared around my wand. I spun them until I heard a satisfying click from the door. I slipped my wand away as I grabbed the handle and twisted it open.

The apartment reflected Vanessa’s style, elegant but not excessive. Due to the fact that Yusuf had access to the blueprints of the building, and some experience as posing as a waiter at a party that was hosted here, I knew exactly where to go.
I ignored all other rooms as I slipped into Vanessa’s study. Once inside I made my way to her desk, upon finding it locked I picked it with magic, just as I did with the front door. I pulled open the first draw to find, what was obviously her diary, open on last night’s entry.

One of the drawbacks of being literate was reading words automatically:
I did not want to do it, but I had to. Nathanial was endangering the operation. Jonathan said Jade was a liability and I had to put him out of commission. The plan must go on and I can’t let my emotions get in the way.
I am sorry Nathanial Jade my love, I have always loved you.

I felt somewhat guilty having read her diary, now knowing her feeling for me. But it did tell me who was running the operation. I closed the draw and locked it, I did not want to leave any evidence of my visit. I continued to search the desk. After searching all the draws but one, upon finding nothing of importance, I opened the last draw. The draw was empty, or at least, appeared empty. I tapped the bottom with my knuckle, it did not sound like the other draws, it had a false bottom.
I fiddled around inside the drawer until I heard a click. I opened the top of the false bottom to find a file. I pulled a large stack of paper and an ink bottle from the pocket in my uniform. I placed the file next to the paper, with the ink bottle open. I placed one hand on the file and the other on the stack paper. I muttered the spell for the duplication of text.

After a minute, the ink bottle was empty and I had a complete version of the documents Venessa was keeping in her draw. I placed her file back and locked the draw. I slipped the now empty ink bottle and the paper stack into my pocket. I crept to the door of Venessa’s apartment and opened it.

“Why are you here?”

I turned to find Venessa behind me, her face was tear stained, her hair messed up and a flattering robe wrapped around her body. I used all the skill I had gained from my time as impersonation, “Miss Mire, I am from management. One of our staff saw you come in looking distraught last night. I was sent up to see if you are well. Perhaps you require something?”

She smiled, “Tell management I said thank you. I lost the love of my life last night to an accident. I require some time alone.”
I bowed, “I am sorry I interrupted you morning Miss Mire.” I left the room and locked the door behind myself. I was lucky Venessa was too distracted to have noticed that I was in her room far longer than I appeared to have been.

city

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44