PHOBIA

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Good day everyone today I will be looking at a very interesting topic which will be the different types of fear or phobia people have, I won't be mentioning all of it just the few part that I can grasp and that I think it's common among ourselves. What brought about the idea of making this post was because I my self found out I was scared of heights which is also known as Acrophobia.

I realised that whenever I get to high grounds, I avoid looking down because whenever I do, there's always this feeling that feels like am going to fall down, sometimes there's this voice at the back of my mind asking me to jump. Now, I don't know if the voice is part of the phobia or if it's just me getting crazy but the good news is I always ignore it as I'm not ready to die now.

And not to forget the jelly legs, yes it's happens when I climb up, my legs do feel weak like they ain't no bones in them no more. The good news is that I'm trying seriously to overcome my phobia and I'm glad to say that they have been some improvements since the last time I discovered I was scared of heights.

Well let's go ahead in naming the three types of fear/phobia people encounter..

Achluophobia

Achluophobia is also known as the fear of darkness. I believe we all had this fear as a child. I remember back then when I was a kid, when it gets dark at night I would refuse to go to my room to sleep because I was really really scared of the dark. Instead what I do is sleep in the sitting room and wake up on my bed the next morning. That magic works everytime😂😂.

I think some adults do get scared of the dark, I do sometimes but it depends on the event that happened before the day got dark. If I had gone out that night to go see a horror movie then there's every tendency that if I'm going to sleep that night, it would be with my lights on.
One way to overcome this fear is to talk to a therapist, another is to practise what is known as expose therapy. Move into the dark on your own, try to remain calm after all there's nothing to be afraid of. If you do this regularly then surely your phobia won't be as bad as it used to be.

Cynophobia

Cynophobia known as the fear of dogs is a phobia I feel is common among people. People tend to be scared of animals like dogs because they don't know what their next action might be. I have once read a story where a giant dog had attacked it's owner while she was taking it out for a walk. It was a sad story that only ended up making my phobia for dogs increase to a little above hundred percent. 😭😂

If you suffer from cynophobia take heart you're not alone. I would recommend seeing a therapists or something, fortunately for some people they overcome such fears when they get to adulthood.

Ophidiophobia

Ophidiophobia which is the fear of snakes is one phobia I believe half the worlds population is scared of. Sometimes I wondered what anyone is thinking when he or she says he wants a snake for a pet. Like among everything in the world, all you could ask for is a snake? It baffles me but then I get everyone has his or her own perspectives, the way I see things might not be the way the next guy does. Treatment for this kinda fear might include counseling or cognitive behavioral therapy. I really don't know if seeing a therapist might cure this phobia for me but if it doesn't work for me, that doesn't mean it won't work for you.

Well that is it for today guys, I hope you guys did learn a thing or two.. I hope to see you guys some other time. Thanks and Goodbye.


© PRAYZZ


Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49