You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The not a Book Club

in #writing6 years ago

Think of all people you opened my eyes to the bid bot issue

The same here. I have only been here a couple of months now, and when I first encountered his posts on the bid bots I made several comments asserting why as a new person I needed those votes. His comments and unwavering conviction kept me coming back, as well as helping me to remain open to others who were also talking of how they hurt the site.

I like to believe I am smart, yet will admit it took a lot of reading his posts (which he does a lot) on this issue to understand how I was hurting my own growth here while enriching the bid bot owners. I realized something wasn't right when I had like 10 votes (one my own), 2 real comments and only 4 views. It doesn't even help with visibility for most of us. It does nothing to promote engagement for most who use these bots.

I am glad he writes consistently on this issue. In my hardheadedness I would probably still be throwing money (usually at a loss) to these bots somehow thinking todays results would be different than yesterdays and last weeks. Maybe even tricking myself into thinking if I just spent a little more money, then it would work, lol.

Sort:  

I was pretty good about timing the votes and could make a profit on most as long as they weren't cheating and setting a guaranteed loss into the bot. Yes some have this and even though it looks like you will have a profit from the bottracker site they just don't vote with a full vote. They will then have their next bidding round end sooner as they don't need a full 2 hours to recover. Took me a minute to understand that scam.

Either way I am now more focused on my content and engagement vs watching the bottracker to try and time profitable bids. I can always make more money later, but my time is limited.

Also can't see any increased viability to using the bots. All my followers who engage come from commenting on posts or from others resteeming my posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58304.13
ETH 2575.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43