Uncontrollable Laughter

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I love to laugh

A broken rib is tough to love

I love to laugh

But right now, it hurts

You make me laugh

Just anything you say will do

You make me laugh

so hard it hurts

I can't not laugh

I love to laugh

You make me laugh

It hurts

Just like our love

It hurts

Just like our love

So worth it


Dedicated to my precious @techslut

Sort:  

I think the last time you've shown me a poem you wrote was... 9 years ago? Something like that.

I am particularly fond of the final segment, where you repeat the same line twice:

It hurts / just like our love / it hurts / just like our love/ So worth it.

That was good. We'll get you back to being the poet your name declared you as :P

Interesting, I didn't notice that. I wrote it as 4 lines each, and I was thinking about removing the line breaks to make it so:

1
2
3
4

1
2
3
4
etc.

But the portion you mentioned is 5 lines, so if I did it that way, it wouldn't exist.
And now that you point it out, I really like it too!

If you check my poems, I tend to have the last stanza break the format, whether by having it be an extra line, having a separated line, or introducing rhyming after not doing it in the other sections.

I think the ending should stick, and making it stand out by rules-breaking in it helps you do so.

You're still missing a line somewhere to end up with 4-4-5 though. Might be worth going for it. I'd put it just before the first "It hurts," as the final line in the second stanza.

I didn't want this block of text as part of the post, so I'm adding it down here.

I'm not even sure when the last time I wrote a poem, but @geekorner has been posting a lot of them lately and forcing me (ok, asking nicely) to read them.

This is one of those times when I've dreamt something. I dreamt the beginning of the poem, and then I added the rest.

Ah yes, and my account name is poet, I can't have this account not have any poetry on it.

Thanks for noting I asked nicely :P

It's also easier to ask nicely now that I get feedback on all my poems. Then again, it got to be easier in the past as well after I got used to no feedback either.

Keep going :)

I don't remember the last time I've laughed like that...

Laughter sweetens the soul😊
Beautiful

Nicely done :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88