Why my Childhood is KickasssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Any kid that grew up in the 80s would recognise these images

Care-Bear.jpg
Thundercats-Wallpaper-1-HD_1299385920.jpg
pinkybrain.jpg

Saturday morning will be a feast for the eyes. It would start as early as 8.00 a.m. and it goes on till 12.00 p.m. Mom can shout all she wants about making the bed, but if Thundercats is on air, no amount of bed making is gonna make me move my feet. It is like cartoon orgy for a 5 year old. When Friday comes, I will be eagerly waiting for Saturday morning. In short, I am a slave to the idiot box.

EVERY CHILD NEEDS HIS RIDE

I grew up in the era of the BMX. This was before inline skates rules the street. Now we have those electric powered wheels. BMX still gets me all excited.

bmx.jpg

CHILDHOOD WAS A SERIES OF CRUEL INSECT/BETTA ABUSE

I am ashamed to say this, but one of the reason my childhood was awesome was because we participated in unlawful insect duels and betta fights. Of course, we were too poor to get any money involved. So, the loser would usually have to walk away with his tail between the legs and be the butt of banters for the next few days until a new victim comes along.

fighting spiders.jpg
fighting bettas.jpg

Bettas are also known as fighting fish and it is a bit more costly and fights are less rampant. Spiders are usually caught from the nearby bushes, so whenever one ran out of supply, all he needs to do is a bit of hunting.

CRAZY SNACKS

Who can forget the food that we spoil ourselves with. One that has a crazy hippy chicken as its mascot. The best part of it all is that I didn't realise that I was already indulging in healthy eating when I was 5. This tasty bites is supposed to lower blood pressure (Haw Flakes).

chickadees.jpg

haw flakes.jpg

NO CANDY CRUSH BUT WE HAVE DONKEY KONG AND WESTERN BAR

Who can forget the 20 cents that we pay for a few peanuts and a game of western bar or donkey kong. Usually we get to be pretty good at it and fortunately we are too young to suffer from gout as a result of too much of peanut munching.

donkey-kong.jpg

Western-Bar.jpg

Childhood would not have been such a feast if Malaysia isn't a country that is peaceful and harmonious. Happy Independence Day Malaysia! We love you because we know of no other country that brought us up.

Malaysian flag.jpg

Steemout.

Sort:  

Yeah 80s kids though I am guessing you are a bit younger than me. Anyone remember these TV shows from early 80s - Cumi dan Ciki and Toriton? If yes hehehe...kita geng :P

If you are also from the 80s strong likelihood i am older than you are...

Ya could be also. I am 40 this year but don't always act like one :P

Aahhh....then i am your junior.

Hehehe yea definitely a kakak 😂

nothing beats a whole saturday morning of cartoon orgy! hahahaha~ whole week having to wake up by my parents to go to school, i set the alarm clocks on saturdays! i miss childhood hahaha, kids these days have their own cartoon channels with whole day of cartoons, nothing special anymore.

Cartoon orgy...a very fitting word.

haha. I totally love this dedication, however I have no recollection of Pinky and the Brain though. My time was Mospida

I used to have a BMX too (passed down from my brother). I used that to cycle to tuition but I lost it when I was not well, and left it locked at the clinic. A day later it was gone.

I never really appreciated haw flakes but I remembered chikadees. I used to save up my allowances just to have them once a week.

Those were the good old days indeed.

And I hope that the younger generation will be aware that it is not easy to have this harmonious well blend multi-cultural society after 1945 and 1969, and not take that for granted and be brain washed by propaganda easily.

Happy Merdeka month!

I like watching Baja Hitam with my brother... Also Slam Dunk (manga).. When I am even younger, I am into Disney cartoons... Snow White and Cinderella

Wah baja hitam. Surely you must be a fan of Gaban amd Naga Gaban! Also the era of Ultraman Taro.

Captain Planet? Haha.

You've got skills to envy.

Thunder thunder thunder catssssssssssssss.. 😂 .. Damn... The good old days

HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

You forgot...dino riders, masked riders and voltron!

so nostalgic !! you just made me feel old :(. You forgot the legendary cartoon "Mask", "Voltron" & "TMNT" .. also Saber Rider and the Star Sheriff

Too many good stuff to write. surely childhood was a bunch of fun filled time.

OMG Saber Rider...I even remember the theme song!

Thank you for the insights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98