You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Siren of the Sea – (PowerHouseCreatives Contest)

in #writing5 years ago

+1 for making sense though, when I tried the 5min thing my usual disconnected concoction of words may have formed sentences but sentences they were not :) I think the 5 min writing works well for just quickly outlining something and maybe you must think of it in terms of 100 word story or so , are there rules to thinking of the start,middle,and end beforehand? You still need to write the words but you can have a sense of progression I guess. Then again once you start to write progression tends to go out the window and to its death.

I like that in the poem they are dead only in our realm. Well done.

Sort:  

I don't think I've been writing prose long enough to have had much in the way of writing blocks, but I do know it will come and bother me at some point. I think I'll try "most dangerous" again then. Of course, if one has a writing block, it might be difficult to even decide what the first words will be.

For this story, although I knew I could write the story beforehand and then just copy it into the most dangerous app, I also knew that wouldn't be fair. But I did think about what I was going to write about before starting with the app. I had a direction in mind.

How does the beginning materialize? Where does it come from? It's kinda hard to start even with the app if we can't come up with that starting direction with which to begin the 5-minute writing mess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69