You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (How) can we measure quality on Steemit?

in #writing7 years ago

this is a very well written post @plushzilla and thanks for the mention.

Yes It can be hard to find good content and I am going to be very honest here. Sometimes I upvote posts that are not very good. Why? well because I know the author is really trying and although they dont have the skills yet, I still want to encourage them to continue trying. I still want to try and motivate people and make an impact on retention.

I think it is equally important to help develop the skills for those authors that are not talented writers as it is to reward the talented authors.

So for me, its not just about finding good content, but finding good people willing to try and make the effort.

Sort:  

I definitely agree, and this is why I don't think there are any silver bullets when it comes to metrics. They can of course help to steer us in the right direction, but just as easily lead us astray if we follow it blindly. I do think that looking at a combination of the person, the intent and to pick up that they are trying and improving the content is the key. I don't know of any algorithm that can do this well but there's too much content to curate effectively and so many people don't attract the attention that they need.

I saw that you and @lestatisticien are working on some initiatives for the people in Indonesia and I applaud your efforts to broaden your reach and help more people gain access to the benefits of steemit. If there's anything I can do please let me know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28