The Long Tomorrow - A passage from chapter 1 - Just a draft

in #writing7 years ago

My funny sci-fi graphic novel is being written and drawn. My English is not good enough for that, so I'm writing it in Italian. The passage below is just a draft, so forgive the mistakes in translation. 

(...)

"What I want from you, Mr. Mhuma, is that you find... You find people, don't you? It's your job..."

"Do you want me to find someone?"

"Not exactly."

"In any case, I just hunt fugitives. I work for the Law. I'm not going to run after cheating husbands or fleeing lovers."

"There's a crime here, Mr. Mhuma..."

"I need a condamn and a price on a head, Mrs. Lancelot. Sorry, I don't think I can..."

"There's no head in this case. And, even if the crime is proven, the Law won't do anything."

"What do you mean?"

"As I was saying, I need your professional help. But not to find a man. I'm a Multi."

"I see that."

"We Multi-men have our body and our brain composed of multi-parts..."

"Everyone knows that."

"Not many ordinary humans know... How can I explain? Do you know how we Multi can control each part of our body?"

"As far as I know, your neural net uses particular neurotransmitters that generate radio waves out of their electric activity."

"Yes. You are a cultured bounty hunter, Mr. Mhuma."

"I read that on a magazine during a stakeout."

"And do you know what happen when a part of someone's body move away from the main grouping?"

"Multi-men can move their parts just a few meters away, as far as I know."

"That's what people think. Not many humans know that we can do... this." 

The left eye of Medea Lancelot left her head and flew away across the square and around the corner.

"Gadzooks!" - said Rando Mhuma. A few second later the eye came back in its place.

"There are three Ups around the corner. Nothing to be worried about. They are working in the street."

"Nice trick! But I don't understand why you are telling all this to me."

"The radio waves we use to have our remote cells connected each other, and to control them, are very weak. Sometimes it happens that a part goes lost."

"..."

"I want to hire you. Not to look for a man. I need you to find a foot! A foot that committed a crime!"

"W-What?!"

"A foot that has been hacked and stolen from its legal owner."

"W-W-W-WHAT...?!"

"There's a crime! You wanted a crime? We have a crime. The Law can't deliver a judgement, but I will show you the evidences, and I will pay the price! I want that foot in jail!"


Other post about "The long tomorrow": 

https://steemit.com/art/@paolobeneforti/stories-of-the-long-tomorrow-a-sci-fi-illustrated-story-about-decentralization-prologue

https://steemit.com/art/@paolobeneforti/the-long-tomorrow-another-bit-of-my-graphic-novel




Sort:  

This looks sure interesting!!
The drawing is "cool" gets my attention.
And probably the story is good too, i did find it a bit hard to understand. ( my bad ) :-)

Great work Paolo. I love your new banner by the way!

thx OldDog! (will we see you in Lisbon, in November?)

Top marks for a gadzooks, I haven't seen one of them for a while!

I love science fiction ;-) nice drawing!
... e dall'Italia i fumetti di Nathan Never ;-)

Il disegno è solo un bozzetto. Spero di arrivare in fondo :D

Me encanta, gracias por escribirlo

Hi Sir, I'm liking your posts more and more. This is very well-written and funny post. Enjoyed reading it.

Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72