You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Siren of the Sea – (PowerHouseCreatives Contest)

in #writing5 years ago

I LOVE freewriting! As I am writing I think what I've put down is crap. Then I walk away from it and come back to find my story is loaded with stuff I had no idea I was putting in there while I wrote. Your story is great! The trick is to let go, write without judgment, and see what comes out. I think your story is very good!
I know you didn't like doing it, but check out @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge, read some of the other entries, and try it again. I write for 4:30 then proofread for as long as I have to without making changes to the story. You definitely get better at it. Coming up with a mythological creature is a whole other level and you did marvelously well, evidenced by the fabulous poem you wrote afterwards.

Sort:  

That's interesting! Have you incorporated this into your regular routine when you sit down to start writing something new, or have you thought about incorporating it? I can understand how something like you describe would work, as I've seen it myself with writing music, and in the mix I discover how two tracks together produce sweet sounds that surprise me sometimes.

I'm not sure that would happen to me with writing stories though, because it was somewhat of a stressful exercise for me. Thanks for the encouraging words!

I understand! I just tried to use the most dangerous writing app for the first time, and it was very stressful! For @mariannewest's freewrites the rules are very loose. And I almost always surprise myself with what comes out. Try it, it's a great community @freewritehouse, I think you might like it. No pressure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55629.86
ETH 2914.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28