Lunch-Time Encounter.!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170927_184906_400.JPG
source

And there I was, relaxing comfortably inside a well ventilated eatery.
Patiently waiting for my order to properly digest.
I had a huge treat and my tummy wasn't ready to be modest about it. Perhaps I was waiting that out too.
This was a perfect moment to complete my Steemit post for the day, "I can never produce a more nourishing content than now when my tank is stuffed" I mused and flashed a ridiculous grin, punching in the security combination of my phone.

I was barely done with one line when someone tapped on my table.
I lifted my eyes while unwrapping a smile simultaneously, to a set of teeth that presented themselves like choristers dressed in white.
I would say, they appeared to be mockingly white because of the one sided position of the lips and the fact that mine were no whiter than the colour of milk.

I could tell the figure was a male from the facial hair and the voice that said " Hello".
My smile somehow disappeared immediately, and my eyes shifted to his.
He appeared to be amiable and well fed.
Wearing a white polo T-shirt which was neatly tucked into a blue jean trouser.
A face cap to match, covered his head which I suspected was bald.
This set up made him appear no different from a golf stroker.
I hadn't the opportunity to glance at his shoes since his eyes were so fixed on mine.
A humbre in his fifties or so, I imagined.
I soon realised my table was his interest, as he requested to share it with me.
I waved indifferently at the chair across the table, which stood lifeless, watching us interact for about sixty seconds.
He lowered himself into the chair with a grunt, and said "Obsessed with that thing much?'

Looking up at him, I replied in a stolid manner " Not really, I'm only composing a finisher for a poem"
Then he returned "I see, shouldn't be hard if you doin' the right thing".
With his right arm, he reached for his left chest in a manner of reciting a pledge, "Let it always come from here" he said.
"If you mentally manufacture every line, you will achieve a heap of appalling vocabulary, that lacks connection and structure....."
I contorted my face, expressing confusion, which I believe went unnoticed because he continued without pausing, rather he maintained his intonation.

"....Meanwhile, producing poetry from your depth, awakens a rhythm and blesses the wordings with a soul."

He surely has no intention to educate me, I thought. Why would he continue with such complex sentences , leaving me with an opaque idea of his lecture. I would prefer he helped me with a suitable complement for my poem, rather than have me listen to him, gabble.

My attention was summoned by a question. Not certain about what he had enquired of me, I pleaded with him to repeat the question.
With a conspicuous frown which was sold out by the visible wrinkle on his forehead. He replied " Do you know how to compose and utilize puns"? "How many drafted puns have you"?
"yeah, pages of them, drafted inside my notepad at home" I returned.
He gave me such a stare that made me wonder whether he witnessed that fib take a figure as it escaped my lips.
Then he shrugged "Good, I guess you didn't need an oldie to lecture you on pun" he said.
The lecture continued for a while, and this time he made it comprehensive.

He ended with a brief exhortation that humbled my nerves.

"Every strand of grey hair or line of wrinkle represents a duly observed Experience. No matter how witty or intelligent you may be, Experience always has something new for you. he said. " To be wise is to understand it before hand, and the opposite, is being taken unaware. Heed the words of Experience, my boy"!.

He reached for his pocket, and held out the flip side of a small card to me. I waited for him get vanish beyond the exit of the eatery, before I looked at the card. Weighing more than it should, the card was well designed for a business card.
I flipped the card to my surprise.
This was someone who made a living out of counseling people. He was in that class that tells you they have a busy schedule even on Sundays.
This discovery made me regret the quality of reception I had offered him earlier.
I couldn't get my mind off paying him a visit ASAP.

##Thanks for stopping by.....

IMG-20170901-WA0010.jpg
how do you lik my badge. Much thanks to @Gbenga for a piece like it

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Nice attempt. Very commendable. Is organic a male or female? Just curious

Lol! Male. its an abridge form for something else and Nicholas. I appreciate the compliment.!

Oh, that's cool. Keep steeming.

This post has received a 1.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @organik.

Poetry comes from deep within. It is never superficial or else it will lack depth. But when it comes straight from the heart, it becomes an inspiration to as many as behold it. You had an encounter with a wise man.

You bet I did.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @organik to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I have learnt from several encounters like this to always give people benefit of doubt
I enjoyed this tho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44